Wolfpack Players Dominate All-District Team

Members of the Elgin Public-Pope John Wolfpack football team dominate selections to the 2011 D1-8 All-District football team.

Chosen recently by coaches in the district, five Wolfpack players were named to the first-team offense while three more were named to the first-team defense.

Running backs Nash Schindler and Blake Anderson were named to the first team along with Alec Galvan. Chosen to quarterback the team was Sage Gideon of Burwell. Named to the offensive line were Wolfpack senior Jared Seier, Tracy Taylor of Burwell and Caleb Lackaff of North Central. Chosen as ends were Wolfpack junior Andrew Heithoff, Jesse McKillip of Clearwater/Orchard and Jacob Birch of Burwell.

Wolfpack junior Nick Heithoff was chosen as punter while Dooly Kim of North Central was named kicker and teammate Carter Camp was selected as the ‘athlete.’

Members of the first-team defense include linemen Caleb Pelster of EPPJ, Jon Alstrom of North Central, Aaron Cronk of Clearwater/Orchard as well as Tony Charron and Blake Jeffres of Burwell.

Chosen as linebackers were Grant Beckman of EPPJ Alex Bendig of West Boyd, Guhner Kepler of North Central and Rylee Klawitter of Niobrara/Verdigre.

Defensive backs selected to the first team were Evan Parks of EPPJ and Travis Kester of Clearwater/Orchard.

Second team selections were: Ross Schindler (EPPJ), quarterback; running backs’ Jacob Bathke (Niobrara/Verdigre) and Aaron Kroll (North Central); linemen Drew Schindler (EPPJ), Garrett Gebhardt (Burwell), Jace Hemenway (Clearwater/Orchard) and Eli Schreier (Niobrara/Verdigre); ends Dexter Black (West Boyd) and Garrett Shepperd (North Central); and kicker Jared Seier (EPPJ).

Second team defense team members are linemen Drew Schindler (EPPJ), Cameron Smith (North Central), Braden Forker (Niobrara/Verdigre), Trevor Krugman (West Boyd) and Jace Hemenway (Clearwater/Orchard); linebackers Nate Nelson (Burwell), Ryan Meis, Andrew Heithoff and Nash Schindler (all EPPJ); defensive backs Owen Pavelka (Niobrara/Verdigre) and Colby Wurst (Burwell).

Players receiving honorable mention were Tre Henkenius (EPPJ), Nate Gaukel, Austin Svoboda, Ethan Gaukel and Scott Jeffres (Burwell); Riley Blomenkamp (Clearwater/Orchard); Al Sybrant (North Central) and Cameron Rust, Ryan Kaczor and Jesse Davis (West Boyd).