Wolfpack Linksters Finish Second At NVC Meet

The varsity team left to right is Liam Heithoff, Miles Schrage, Kyle Heithoff holding the runner-up trophy, Regan Kerkman, and Chad Bode. Coach Sladky is holding a coach award. Photo submitted

ATKINSON — The best golf teams in the Niobrara Valley Conference competed for top honors at the NVC Meet Tuesday, April 28.
Eleven schools were represented at the golf tournament, eight vying for the team championship. Winning the team title was West Holt with a score of 327. Elgin Public-Pope John finished second at 362 followed by Neligh-Oakdale 370, Clearwater-Orchard 403, North Central 409, Boyd County 414, CWC 418 and Ewing 462. Not figuring in the team score were Santee, Niobrara-Verdigre and Elkhorn Valley.
West Holt’s Alex Fritz shot an 18-hole score of 78 (39-39) to win medalist honors. The Wolfpack’s Chad Bode finished third with an 81 (42-39). Placing sixth was Kyle Heithoff who shot an 86 (47-39). Other Wolfpack scores included Miles Schrage 97 (49-48) to finish 18th, Liam Heithoff placed 20th with a score of 98 (51-47)while Regan Kerkman came in 22nd with a score of 99 (49-50).
EPPJ also had three Wolfpack golfers compete in the JV division. They were Kalin Henn 114 (57-57), Evan Schindler 119 (60-59) and Jack Borer 131 (62-69).