Wolfpack Gridders Earn All-State Honors

Four Wolfpack football seniors were named to the Class D-1 All-State football team announced Sunday in the Lincoln Journal-Star.
Nash Schindler, Drew Schindler, Jared Seier and Grant Beckman earned first team honors for their play on the field during the season.
Nash Schindler was one of three running backs named to the first team. During the season he rushed for 1,425 yards, an average of just over eight yards per carry.
Leading the way for him was offensive lineman Drew Schindler who was named to the first team. Schindler helped anchor an offensive line which allowed Wolfpack running backs to gain over 3,900 yards during the season.
Two Wolfpack players were named to the first team defense. Anchoring the defensive line was senior Jared Seier. Seier had 12 unassisted and 81 assisted tackles during the season including eight sacks.
Joining him on the first team all-state defense was linebacker Grant Beckman. In addition to 26 unassisted and 87 assisted tackles, Beckman had four interceptions and one fumble recovery in a stellar senior season.
Other first team selections were:
Quarterback — Tyler Schnitzler — Kenesaw
Running backs — Nate Hass — Guardian Angels; Garrett Kolling — Alma.
End — Zach Wietfeld, Guardian Angels.
Linemen — Kai Wolfe — Alma; Justin Butt — Kenesaw.
Kicker — Kory Kindler — Alma
Athlete — Kellen Unvert — Freeman
Linemen — Fran LaCrete — Garden County; Ryan Tegtmeier — BDS
Linebackers — Cogan Thompson — Kenesaw; Jacob Olmstead — Overton; Zane Ellis — South Loup
Back — Ryan Mitteis — Creighton
Punter — Jac Bailey — McCool Junction
Athlete — Josh Eklund — Friend.
Honorary Captains — Tyler Schnitzler and Nash Schindler.
Honorable Mention
Wolfpack players receiving honorable mention were Ross Schindler, Andrew Heithoff and Evan Parks.
World-Herald Selections
The Omaha World-Herald newspaper announced its all-state football teams Sunday.
In Class D-1, three Wolfpack players were named to the first team. They were Nash Schindler, Jared Seier and Andrew Heithoff. Schindler was chosen as a running back, Seier was selected as a defensive lineman and Heithoff was picked as a linebacker. During the season, Heithoff had 24 unassisted and 96 assisted tackles and recorded eight sacks.
Receiving honorable mention for the Wolfpack were Caleb Pelster and Blake Anderson.