Waterbury Elected District #18 School Board President

The District #18 Board of Education said goodbye to one member and welcomed her successor during Wednesday night’s meeting.

School Board Vice President Mary Bauer stepped down, having completed her term. She chose not to seek re-election months ago. At the beginning of Wednesday night’s meeting, her successor was sworn in to begin a new four-year term.

Seated in-between board members Kim Wells and Laurie Waterbury, new Robert Hoefer read the oath of office at the start of the meeting. He won election to the board in November, defeating Janet Koinzan. Winning re-election at that time were two other members — Steve Heithoff and Ryan Reestman.

Moments later, after new officers were elected, Bauer was recognized for her years of service to the school district by Elgin Education Association (EAA) member Heidi Rethmeier who, on behalf of the entire staff said “thank you for all your work and dedication to the school. Then, board member Steve Heithoff arose from his chair and presented Bauer with a gift of appreciation.

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.