Proceedings – District #18 Board of Education

Elgin Public School Board
Special February Meeting
Distance Learning Room, EPS
February 24, 2012, 3:00 PM
President Waterbury called the special February 2012 Meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.  Board members present were Steve Heithoff, Laurie Waterbury, Stan Heithoff, Kim Wells, Ryan Reestman, and Bob Hoefer.  Also present were Principal Adam Patrick, Paula Jensen, and superintendent candidate, Charles Curnyn.
President Waterbury led the “Pledge of Allegiance.” Waterbury reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.
School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.
Stan Heithoff motioned and Kim Wells second to approve the Agenda.  Motion carried, vote 6-0.
The school board held an interview with superintendent candidate, Charles Curnyn.
Steve Heithoff motioned to enter closed session to debrief following the interview with Charles Curnyn  for the protection of the public interest and the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual, and if the individual has not requested a public meeting.  Stan Heithoff second.   President Waterbury restated the motion.  Vote 6-0, motion carried.  The board entered closed session at 4:20 p.m.  The board returned to open session at 6:36 p.m.  No action taken.
The school board reviewed the superintendent contract with changes recommended by the school attorney.
The board will hold a special board meeting on Thursday, March 1, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. in the EPS Distance Learning Room.  The next regular board meeting will be March 8, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. at the EPS Distance Learning Room.
Ryan Reestman motioned and Stan Heithoff second to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried, vote 6-0. The meeting adjourned at 6:57 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Kim Wells, Secretary
-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.
Publish: March 7, 2012