Proceedings – District #18 Board of Education

Special February Meeting
Distance Learning Room, EPS
February 14, 2012, 4:00 PM
President Waterbury called the special February 2012 Meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.  Board members present were Steve Heithoff, Laurie Waterbury, Stan Heithoff and Bob Hoefer.  Absent were Kim Wells and Ryan Reestman.  Guests present were Principal Adam Patrick, Amy Selting, Barb Bode, Dennis Morgan, and Heidi Rethmeier.  Also present were Sharon Endorf and Marcia Herring of the NASB.
President Waterbury led the “Pledge of Allegiance.” Waterbury reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.
School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.
Stan Heithoff motioned and Bob Hoefer second to approve the Agenda.  Motion carried, vote 4-0.
Board member, Kim Wells, arrived at 4:09 p.m.
The school board held a consultation with NASB representative, Marcia Herring, regarding the superintendent search.  Interview questions were reviewed and finalized.  The timeline was set and interviews are to take place on Feb. 23rd & 24th.
Stan Heithoff motioned to enter closed session to review candidates files for the protection of the public interest and the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual, and if the individual has not requested a public meeting.  Steve Heithoff second.   President Waterbury restated the motion.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.  The board entered closed session at 4:34p.m.  The board returned to open session at 6:05 p.m.  No action taken.
The next regular board meeting will be on Thursday, March 8, 2012 at 7:30 PM at the EPS Distance Learning Room.
Kim Wells motioned and Bob Hoefer second to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried, vote 5-0. The meeting adjourned at 6:06 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Kim Wells, Secretary
-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.
Publish: February 22, 2012