Proceedings – District #18 Board of Education


Regular September Meeting

Distance Learning Room, EPS

December 8, 2011, 7:30 PM

President Waterbury called the regular December 2011 Meeting to order at 7:31 p.m.  Board members present were Ryan Reestman, Steve Heithoff, Kim Wells, Laurie Waterbury, and Stan Heithoff.  Bob Hoefer arrived at 7:32 p.m.  Also present were Superintendent Steve Dennis, Principal Adam Patrick, Dennis Morgan, Paula Jensen, Amy Selting, and Tina Thiele-Blecher.

President Waterbury led the “Pledge of Allegiance.”  Waterbury reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.

School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.

Steve Heithoff motioned and Bob Hoefer second to approve the Consent Agenda: #5- Minutes of Regular Meeting, #6- Adopt the Agenda, #7- Financial Report, #8- Board Bills. Motion carried, vote 6-0.

Access Elevator & Lifts, Maintenance, $475.00; Applied Connective Tech., Operation Plant, “$1,823.58“; AT&T, Business Expense, $300.00; Blue Raven Tech., Instru Expense, $87.33; CenturyLink, Instru Expense, $920.36; Corner Service & Tire, Transportation, $191.85; Courtyard by Marriott, Board Expense, $852.00; Dean’s Market, Maintenance, $7.17, Instru Expense, $51.49; Dell, Supt. Expense, “$1,169.74“; Dunlap Industries, Maintenance, “$2,176.40“; Eakes, Business Expense, $343.99; ESU #8, “$8,111.38“; Elgin Auto Parts, Maintenance, $35.85; Elgin One Stop, Transportation, “$2,985.51“; Elgin Review, Board Expense, $332.18; Elite Office Products, Business Expense, $537.49; Flenniken Plumbg/Htg, Maintenance, $442.00; Follett Library Resources, Library Expense, $293.00; Grand Island Physical Therapy, SpEd Expense, $209.31; Haddock, Instru Expense, $109.00; Hadley-Braithwait, Maintenance, $339.50; Hank’s Front End, Transportation, $75.00; Harris, Business Expense, $455.99, Business Expense, “$4,947.55“; Highscope, SpEd Expense, $189.00; Island Supply & Welding Co., Instru Expense, $41.40; Jerry’s Feed, Business Expense, $10.47; Johnny Dodge, Transportation, “$1,263.29“; “Kerkman, Jeff”, Maintenance, $510.00; Librarian’s Book Express, Instru Expense, $260.45; “Loup Valley Lighting, Inc”, Maintenance, $240.29; “Matheson, DBA Linweld”, Maintenance, $10.45; MARC, Maintenance, $191.62; Midwest Floor Specialists, Maintenance, $171.20; NASB, Board Expense, $55.00; NCSA, Instru Expense, $125.00; NE. Dept of Labor, Maintenance, $108.00; Onesource, Instru Expense, $42.00, Reimbursement, $826.83; Schumacher, Maintenance, $217.50; The Station, Transportation , $857.18; Verizon Business, Business Expense, $166.32; Wells Fargo, Business Expense, “$1,501.50“, Instru Expense, $189.32.

Total Board Bills: “$34,249.49“

December Payroll: “$163,272.86“

Total Board Bills/ Payroll: “$197,522.35“

President Waterbury recognized visitors and asked if the patrons had any comments.

There were no Correspondence or Standing Committee reports.

Principal Patrick reported on a school visit to Ravenna High School to research the “One-to-One” computer program in place there.  Ms. Rethmeier, Mrs. Selting, Miss Johnson, and he took part in the visit.  He asked the board if this is something that they would be interested in investigating further.  The board confirmed that they would like more research and information brought back to the board in the future.  Principal Patrick reported that the credit appeals procedure is underway and reminded them of the upcoming Christmas Concert and Wolfpack Fall Sports Awards night.

Special Recognition was given to the Wolfpack Football Team & Coaches on being D-1 State Champions.  Making All-District were:  Nash Schindler, Blake Anderson, Andrew Heithoff, Nick Heithoff, Ryan Meis, Jared Seier, Ross Schindler, Drew Schindler, Caleb Pelster, Grant Beckman, Evan Parks.  All-State Team in Omaha & Lincoln paper:  Nash Schindler, Jared Seier.  All-State Team in Omaha Paper:  Andrew Heithoff.  Honorary Captain in Omaha Paper:  Jared Seier.  All-State Team in Lincoln paper:  Drew Schindler, Grant Beckman.  Nash Schindler as Honorary Captain in Lincoln Paper.   Norfolk Daily News football awards:  Class D All-Area Team- Nash Schindler; Captain of the Elite 8 team-Nash Schindler, 2nd team-Ross Schindler & Caleb Pelster.  Volleyball players recognized were Carey Eischeid: 1st Team NVC, Lauren Selting:  2nd team NVC.  One-Act Acting Awards recognized were:  District Superior Actor Awards:  Tyler Smith, Danny Smith, Juliana Dunn, Hunter Thramer.

In action items, Steve Heithoff motioned and Bob Hoefer second to approve Second Reading of Board Policy 201.02, Board Membership –  Elections and Appointments, Board Policy 201.03, Qualifications, Board Policy 201.04, Oath of Office, Board Policy 201.05, Term of Office, Board Policy 201.07, Board Member Liability, Board Policy 203.01, Board Organizational Meeting, and Board Policy 204.08, Quorum as presented.  All voted aye, motion carried.

Kim Wells motioned to accept the letter of resignation of Supt. Steve Dennis.  Hoefer second the motion.  All voted aye, motion carried.  President Waterbury thanked Mr. Dennis for his years of service to the Elgin School District.

Supt. Dennis reported that the chair-lift had undergone its yearly inspection.  The new vans have arrived and the old ones traded in.  Miss Meghan Boyle had attended the Check 4 Learning workshop in Kearney as the school’s representative.  Further information will be shared with the school board and staff.  Elgin Public School will undergo a Title 1 Peer Review in April 2012.  Supt. Dennis had attended a Teacher & Principal frameworks Conf. in Kearney.  This will assist the Supt. in principal evaluation.

Discussion was held on the Supt. search process.  The board decided to gather more information from the available companies and then set a date for a special meeting to decide.

The board retreat will be held on January 16 at 6:30 p.m. using the polycom cart with Burma Kroger of the NASB.  Pizza supper will be served.  Board members were reminded to get their Board Self-Evaluation forms to President Waterbury as soon as possible.

The board reviewed the Policies in the 400 section.  The committee will meet and make recommendations for revisions.

Motion by Hoefer, second by Wells to adjourn the meeting.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.  The meeting adjourned at 8:44 p.m.

The next regular board meeting will be on Thursday, January 12, 2012 at 7:30 PM at the EPS Distance Learning Room.

Respectfully submitted,

Kim Wells, Secretary

Paula Jensen, Recorder

-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.

Publish: December 21, 2011