Proceedings — School District #18

Regular Meeting
Distance Learning Room, EPS
January 9, 2014, 7:30 PM
Supt. Dan Polk called the regular January meeting to order at 7:33 p.m.  Board members present were Ryan Reestman, Steve Heithoff, Steve Busteed, Stan Heithoff, Laurie Waterbury, and Bob Hoefer.  Also present were Superintendent Dan Polk, Principal Greg Wemhoff, Dennis Morgan, Paula Jensen, Sue Vanis, and Kerri Drueke.
Supt. Polk led the “Pledge of Allegiance.”  He also reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.
School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.
Mr. Polk asked for nominations for board reorganization.  Steve Heithoff nominated Laurie Waterbury for board president.  Bob Hoefer seconded the motion.  There being no further nominations, a roll call vote was held.  Steve Heithoff, Bob Hoefer, Stan Heithoff, Steve Busteed, and Ryan Reestman voted yes, Waterbury abstained.  Motion carried.
President Waterbury then took over the meeting and asked for nominations for Vice President.  Bob Hoefer nominated Steve Heithoff for the position, Busteed second.  Reestman motioned to cease nomination and Stan Heithoff seconded.  All voted aye, motion carried.  Ryan Reestman was nominated for Secretary by Stan Heithoff and seconded by Steve Heithoff.  Busteed motioned to cease nominations and Stan Heithoff seconded.  All voted aye, motion carried.  Reestman then nominated Stan Heithoff for Treasurer and Busteed seconded the motion.  Steve Heithoff motioned to cease nominations and Reestman seconded the motion.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Steve Heithoff then motioned and Stan Heithoff seconded to designate the Official Depository of Funds as the Bank of Elgin, the Legal Newspaper as the Elgin Review, the Bus Inspector as Jonny Dodge, and the Superintendent as the Official to Apply for and Receive Federal Funds and the District’s Non-discrimination Compliance Officer.  Vote 6-0, motion carried.
Stan Heithoff motioned and Ryan Reestman second to approve the Consent Agenda: #5- Minutes of Regular Meeting, #6- Adopt the Agenda, #7- Financial Report, #8- Board Bills. Motion carried, vote 6-0.
Access Elevator, Maintenance, $475.00; Binswanger Glass, Maintenance, $165.56; Central Valley Ag, Instru Expense, $63.92, Maintenance, $169.37; Central NE Rehab, SpEd Expense, $383.62; Dean’s Market, Maintenance, $80.03, Instru Expense, $20.73, Instru Expense, $13.19; Eakes, Instru Expense, $15.98, Maintenance, $135.56; EPS Lunch Fund, Business Expense, $15,000.00; ESU #8, $17,989.86; Elgin Appliance, Maintenance, $239.75; Elgin One Stop, Transportation, $1,831.25, Instru Expense, $10.64; Elgin Review, Business Expense, $470.00, Board Expense, $154.91; Elite Office Products, Business Expense, $156.76; Flenniken Plmbg & Hth, Maintenance, $32.00; Follett Library Resources, Instru Expense, $819.90; Fort Worth Zoo, Instru Expense, $25.00; Green Thumb, Maintenance, $1,273.91; Harding & Schultz, Board Expense, $78.00; Island Supply & Welding, Instru Expense, $2,576.90, Instru Expense, $82.80; Jonny Dodge, Transportation, $47.04; Kittelson, Jim, Maintenance, $170.00; Kooi Communications, Business Expense, $75.00; Loup Valley Lighting, Maintenance, $984.75; MSM Enterprises, SpEd Expense, $454.34; NE DOL/Boiler Inspection, Maintenance, $172.00; NE Labor Law Posters, Business Expense, $77.25; Onesource, Business Expense, $43.00; Overland, SpEd Expense, $240.60; Playscripts, Extracurric Expense, $86.56; Precision Repair, Transportation, $714.25; Protex Central, Maintenance, $1,133.62; Rasmussen Mechanical, Maintenance, $577.00; Reimbursement, $1,905.13; The Station, Transportation, $861.35; Thompson Co., Maintenance, $668.96; Verizon Business, Business Expense, $192.15; Verizon Wireless, Business Expense, $415.14; Volkman Plmbg & Htg, Maintenance, $199.00; Wageworks, Business Expense, $176.00
Total Board Bills: $51,457.78
January Payroll: $176,973.80
Total Board Bills/ Payroll: $228,431.58
President Waterbury recognized visitors and asked if the patrons had any comments.
There was no Correspondence.  In committee reports, the building & grounds committee had tested the lighting at the football field and the results were very low according to the recommended lumens.  The policy committee has submitted the section 500 policies for first reading and work will begin on the section 600 policies.
Principal Wemhoff reported on Check 4 Learning testing and the state principal’s conference he had attended.  On January 16th the teacher’s will attend an inservice in Wayne.  The state writing assessments will be given on January 20th.
Supt. Polk reported on the Wolfpack Committee meeting.  He said they discussed cutting back on fundraisers by students and they reviewed improvements to be made at the football field.  Mr. Polk will compose specs for the lighting project at the field and put it out for bids.  He met with the Jr. Class sponsors, students, and parents in regards to the Washington DC/New York City trip.  Service Projects are being lined up for students to participate in and concession stand opportunities were discussed.  Supt. Polk reported on work that was done at the school over the holidays and reminded all board members that are up for re-election that they need to re-file at the courthouse.
In action items, Steve Heithoff motioned and Reestman second to accept a bid from Protex Central in the amount of $5,500 for a range hood upgrade to meet fire suppression code requirements.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Hoefer motioned and Busteed second to approve 1st reading of section 500 board policies.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Motion by Stan Heithoff, second by Reestman to adjourn the meeting.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.  The meeting adjourned at 8:26 p.m.
The board will hold its annual retreat on January 22, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. at the EPS Distance Learning Room.  The board will review past goals and set goals for the future.  The next regular board meeting will be held February 12, 2014 at 7:30 PM at the EPS Distance Learning Room.
Respectfully submitted,
Ryan Reestman, Secretary
Paula Jensen, Recorder
-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.
PUBLISH: January 15, 2014