Proceedings — District #18 Board of Education

Regular Meeting
Distance Learning Room, EPS
January 15, 2015, 7:30 PM
Supt. Dan Polk called the regular January 2015 meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.  Board members present were Steve Busteed, Stan Heithoff, Steve Heithoff, Bob Hoefer, and Laurie Waterbury.  Administrators present were Superintendent Dan Polk and Principal Greg Wemhoff.
Supt. Polk led the “Pledge of Allegiance.”  He also reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.
School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.
The first action item was to appoint a person to a two-year term since there were no candidates to fill the position.  Laurie Waterbury made a motion, Steve Heithoff second to appoint Doug Jones to the open position.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.  Doug Jones took the Oath of Office later in the meeting.
Mr. Polk asked for nominations for board reorganization.  Laurie Waterbury nominated Steve Heithoff for board president.  Stan Heithoff seconded the motion.  There being no further nominations, a roll call vote was held.  Laurie Waterbury, Steve Busteed, Bob Hoefer, Stan Heithoff, and Doug Jones voted yes, Steve Heithoff abstained.  Motion carried.
President Heithoff then took over the meeting and asked for nominations for Vice President.  Stan Heithoff nominated Laurie Waterbury for the position, Bob Hoefer second.  Steve Heithoff, Busteed, Jones, Hoefer, and Stan Heithoff voted aye, Waterbury abstained, motion carried.
Bob Hoefer was nominated for Secretary by Laurie Waterbury and seconded by Stan Heithoff.  Bob Hoefer then nominated Doug Jones for Secretary and Steve Busteed seconded the nomination.  Roll call vote was taken and Hoefer, Busteed, Steve Heithoff, and Stan Heithoff voted for Jones and Waterbury and Jones voted for Hoefer.  Doug Jones won the nomination in a 4-2 vote.
Hoefer then nominated Stan Heithoff for Treasurer and Busteed seconded the motion.  Waterbury, Busteed, Hoefer, Steve Heithoff, and Jones voted aye, Stan Heithoff abstained, motion carried.
Stan Heithoff then motioned and Jones seconded to designate the Official Depository of Funds as the Bank of Elgin, the Legal Newspaper as the Elgin Review, the Bus Inspector as Jonny Dodge, the Superintendent as the Official to Apply for and Receive Federal Funds and the District’s Non-discrimination Compliance Officer and the law firm of KSB School Law as School Attorney.  Vote 6-0, motion carried.
Waterbury motioned and Hoefer second to approve the Consent Agenda: #5- Minutes of Regular Meeting, #6- Adopt the Agenda, #7- Financial Report, #8- Board Bills. Motion carried, vote 6-0.
Antelope County Clerk, Board Expense, $446.72; Appeara, Maintenance, $58.34; Beckman Lumber, Instru Expense, $104.17; Boone County Clerk, Board Expense, $50.00; Central NE Rehab, SpEd Expense, $490.28; CVA, Maintenance, $220.89, Instru Expense, $27.25; City of Elgin, Maintenance, $671.25; Dean’s Market, Instru Expense, $23.03; ESU #8, $12,352.57; Elgin One Stop, Transportation, $1,985.69; Elgin Review, Business Expense, $529.50, Board Expense, $62.65; Elite Office Products, Instru Expense, $348.77, Business Expense, $135.48; Great Plains Comm., Business Expense, $594.58; Green Thumb, Maintenance, $1,207.77; Hadley Braithwait, Maintenance, $87.90; Harris School Solutions, Business Expense, $497.04; Iburg, Sherri, SpEd Expense, $36.80; Island Supply, Instru Expense, $193.61; Jonny Dodge, Transportation, $1,060.05; Kittelson, Jim, Maintenance, $665.00; Midwest Floor Specialists, Maintenance, $64.30; Norfolk Daily News, Instru Expense, $100.00; Public Risk Management, Board Expense, $100.00; Reimbursement    , $194.53; Schumacher Exterm., Maintenance, $80.00; The Station, Instru Expense, $528.52; Thompson Co., Maintenance, $62.70; Verizon Business, Business Expense, $31.64; Winners’ Circle, Board Expense, $69.50
Total Board Bills: $23,080.53
January Payroll:     $189,258.37
Total Board Bills/ Payroll: $212,338.90
President Heithoff recognized visitors and asked if the patrons had any comments.
Principal Wemhoff reported on upcoming state writing tests, teacher inservice on Jan. 22, and Wolfpack  joint meeting on Jan. 21st.  Discussion was held on finding a different holiday tournament.
Supt. Polk reported on the board self-evaluation.  Waterbury read some of the board comments that she had compiled from the self-evaluations and the board will discuss them further at the upcoming board retreat.
In action items, bids for replacement of the gym floor were reviewed.  Stan Heithoff motioned to accept the bid from Anderson-Ladd for strip maple flooring with sport wood direct wood tiles on the perimeter subject to mock-up approval in the amount of $94,900.  Busteed seconded the motion.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Hoefer motioned, Waterbury second to approve policies in Board Policy section 700 and 800 on first reading.  Vote 6-0, motion carried.
Motion by Stan Heithoff, second by Jones to adjourn the meeting.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.  The meeting adjourned at 9:07 p.m.
The board will hold its annual retreat on January 22, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. at the EPS Distance Learning Room.  The next regular board meeting will be held February 11, 2015 at 7:30 PM at the EPS Distance Learning Room.
Respectfully submitted,
Doug Jones, Secretary
Paula Jensen, Recorder
-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.
PUBLISH: January 21, 2015