Proceedings — District #18 Board of Education

Special May Meeting
Distance Learning Room, EPS
May 15, 2013 7:30 PM
President Waterbury called the special May 2013 Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.  Board members present were Steve Heithoff, Laurie Waterbury, Ryan Reestman, and Bob Hoefer.  Also present were Supt. Dan Polk and Dennis Morgan.
President Waterbury led the “Pledge of Allegiance.” Waterbury reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.
School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.
Steve Heithoff motioned, Ryan Reestman second to excuse Stan Heithoff from the meeting.  Vote 4-0, motion carried.
The building committee, consisting currently of Steve Heithoff and Bob Hoefer, shared information about the project proposals submitted by Rasmussen Mechanical, Siemens, and Trane.  Rasmussen and Siemens were similar proposals that the board was interested in and Rasmussen had the low bid.  Consideration of the project was due to the age of the current system and the fragile nature of the current system.  Other factors include the cost savings to be realized with an expected increase in efficiency from the current 40-50% to a 95% efficient system and because the district is financially stable enough at present that the project will not cause a levy increase.
Steve Heithoff moved and Reestman seconded that Elgin Public Schools contract with Rasmussen Mechanical for an HVAC System and Temperature Control and that the superintendent be authorized to negotiate the terms of the contract and arrange financing/payment of the project on behalf of the school district for the high school, elementary, and gym buildings as proposed at a total cost of $666,313.
In other action Items, Bob Hoefer motioned, Steve Heithoff second to approve the teaching contract of Allison DeVoll for 2013-14.  Vote 4-0, motion carried.
Reestman motioned, Steve Heithoff second to appoint Steve Busteed as new school board member.  Vote 4-0, motion carried.
The next regular board meeting will be June 13, 2013 at 7:30 p.m. at the EPS Distance Learning Room.
Hoefer motioned and Reestman second to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried, vote 4-0. The meeting adjourned at 7:42p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Dan Polk, recorder
-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.
PUBLISH: May 22, 2013