Proceedings — District #18 Board of Education

Regular April Meeting
Distance Learning Room, EPS
April 11, 2012, 7:30 PM
President Waterbury called the regular April 2012 Meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.  Board members present were Stan Heithoff, Steve Heithoff, Ryan Reestman, Laurie Waterbury, and Kim Wells.  Absent was Bob Hoefer.  Also present were Superintendent Steve Dennis, Principal Adam Patrick, Paula Jensen, Stacy Shumake-Henn, Jeane Johnson and Ross Gronau.
President Waterbury led the “Pledge of Allegiance.”  Waterbury reminded everyone that a copy of the Nebraska Open Meetings Law was posted in the meeting room.
School board meeting notice complied with Meeting Notice Policy #204.07.
Steve Heithoff motioned and Stan Heithoff second to approve the Consent Agenda with the modified order of items: #5- Minutes of Previous Meetings, #6- Adopt the Agenda, #7- Financial Report, #8- Board Bills. Motion carried, vote 5-0.
AtoZ Vac & Sew, Maintenance, $21.90; Best Western Inn (Kearney), Instru Expense, $205.62; Cash-Wa, Maintenance, $125.74; CVA, Instru Expense, $64.00, Maintenance, $98.88; City of Elgin, Maintenance, $511.50; Conjuguemos, Instru Expense, $40.00; Corner Service & Tire, Transportation, $112.13; Dean’s Market, Maintenance, $15.78, Instru Expense, $66.03, Instru Expense, $162.13, SpEd Expense, $4.18; Decker Equip., Maintenance, $41.40; ESU #8, “$27,312.91“; Eakes, Instru Expense, “$1,148.92“; Elgin Appliance, Maintenance, $52.49; Elgin FCCLA, $491.81; Elgin One Stop, Transportation, “$1,501.36“; Elgin Review, Board Expense, $151.62, Business Expense, $428.43; Fairfield Inn & Suites, Supt. Expense, $182.00; Flenniken Plmbg&Htg, Maintenance, $79.30; Grand Island PT, SpEd Expense, $238.31; Great Plains Comm, Business Expense, $114.58; Hadley Braithwait, Maintenance, $266.65; Harding & Schultz, Board Expense, $441.86; Harris, Business Expense, $284.10; Henn Electrical LLC, Maintenance, $247.50; “Instrumentalist, The”, Instru Expense, $28.00; Island Supply & Welding, Instru Expense, $184.76; JW Pepper, Instru Expense, $29.29; Kayton Intl., Maintenance, $750.00; MARC, Maintenance, $148.87; MSM, SpEd Expense, $223.82; NASB, Board Expense, “$3,600.00“; NCSAdmins, Supt. Expense, $100.00; Petersburg History Book, Instru Expense, $65.00; Precision Repair, Transportation, $134.94; Reimbursement, “$1,565.75“; Salem Press, Instru Expense, $465.00; Schumacher Exterm., Maintenance, $217.50; Student Assurance Services, Business Expense, $500.00; “Teaching Strategies, LLC”, Instru Expense, $209.00; The Station, Transportation, $694.65; Verizon Business, Business Expense, $540.20; Volkman Plumbing & Heating, Maintenance, “$1,987.99“; Willsie Co., Instru Expense, $181.68
Total Board Bills: “$46,037.58“
April Payroll: “$179,035.19“
Total Board Bills/ Payroll: “$225,072.77“
President Waterbury recognized visitors and asked if the patrons had any comments.  She read a correspondence from the FFA Chapter inviting the board members to their banquet on April 17th.
Principal Patrick gave a report on honor roll, MAP testing, and student led conferences.  He discussed with the board some changes that could be developed in the class schedule for 2012-13.  He also gave the A.D. report of spring events.
Special Recognition was given to state speech qualifiers, Ethan Fischer and Danny Smith; new National Honor Society Inductees, Stephanie Bode, Brett Kinney, Ivy Prater, Hunter Thramer, and Madison Voborny.  Also recognized were Devon Baum – 1st place in Natural Resource Speaking and Cordell Waterbury – 1st place in Ag Mechanics Repair and Maintenance awarded at State FFA Convention.
In action items, discussion on replacement of the gym ceiling was held.  Ross Gronau presented information on the EnergyCraft Systems and options.  Steve Heithoff motioned and Ryan Reestman second to approve the bid from EnergyCraft Systems with option 1 in the amount of $43,468.08.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.
Reestman motioned and Stan Heithoff second to approve the renewal of teacher contracts for the 2012-13 school year.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.
Stan Heithoff motioned to approve teacher requisitions, Kim Wells second.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.
Wells motioned and Reestman second to approve the technology purchase with the Dell computers option in the amount of $28,415.67.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.
Steve Heithoff motioned and Wells second to approve the revised board policy 606.06 Acceptable Use and Internet Safety Policy for Computer/Internet Network of the Elgin Public School District on first reading.  Vote 5-0, motion carried.
Board member, Bob Hoefer, arrived at 9:16 p.m.
Stan Heithoff motioned and Steve Heithoff second to approve board policy 611.02, Student Promotion, Retention or Acceleration as amended on first reading.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Steve Heithoff motioned and Bob Hoefer second to approve first reading of board policy 706.05, Purchasing on Behalf of Employees; policy 709, Cash in School Buildings; policy 710, Disposition of School Property; policy 801.04, Bus Safety Program; policy 801.05, Bus Driver Supervision; policy 801.11, School-Owned Vehicles; policy 801.15, Use of Video Cameras on School Buses; policy 801.08, Bus Fueling and Maintenance; policy 802.06, Vending Machines as revised.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Hoefer motioned and Stan Heithoff second to approve revisions to Board Policies 600’s, 700’s and 800’s.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Reestman motioned and Wells second to set the last day of school for 2011-12 school year as Friday, May 18, 2012.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Steve Heithoff motioned and Bob Hoefer second to approve revisions to board policy 502.02, Nonresident Students and regulations.  All voted aye, motion carried.
Supt. Dennis reported on Title 1 parent meeting, Northern Tier and Niobrara Valley Conference meetings he had attended.  Area schools have shown interest in joining the NVC.  Results from a parent survey on summer school were shared.  A majority wanted 3 days a week in mid-to-late June.  He also shared the results of the energy audit.
Steve Heithoff motioned to enter closed session for teacher negotiations to protect the public interest.  Reestman  second.  President Waterbury restated the motion.  All voted aye, motion carried.  The Board entered closed session at 10:20 p.m.  The Board returned to open session at 10:58 p.m.  No action taken.
Motion by Wells, second by Hoefer to adjourn the meeting.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.  The meeting adjourned at 10:59 p.m.
The next meeting will held on May 9, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. in the Distance Learning Room at Elgin Public School
Respectfully submitted,
Kim Wells, Secretary
Paula Jensen, Recorder
-This is a draft copy and does not become official Elgin Public Board minutes until approved at the next regular or advertised meeting.
Publish: April 18, 2012