Nick Hoefer Foursome Win PJ Golf Tournament

Seventeen teams competed Saturday at the Pope John Golf Tournament.

The four-person scramble was held at Summerland Golf Course near Ewing. Weather conditions were warm and breezy when the teams took to the course for the 9 a.m. shotgun start.

When it was all over, Nick Hoefer’s team claimed the top prize in the championship flight with a 59. Other members of the team were Jeremy Hoefer, Jim Lauridsen and Greg Henn.

Taking second was Jake Sladky’s team with a 60. Others on Sladky’s team were Dave Beckman, Father Ross Burkhalter and Chris Eischeid. One shot behind in third place was the team of Peg Schindler, Mike Haith, Aaron Rasmussen and Crystal Kahle.

Winning the first flight was the team of Joey Mlnarik, Nate Dierks, Brenden Henn and Jordan Engle with a 65. Taking second was the team of TJ Mlnarik, Aaron Koenig, Marty Knust and Greg Schrage, also with a 65. Finishing third with a 66 was a team composed of Mark Schrage, Preston Schrage, Dave Peterson and Sherri Peterson.

Women winning flag prizes were Tracey Schindler, Peg Schindler, Lynell Morgan, Sherri Peterson, Jessie Reestman, Joan Childers, Pam Dinslage and Sarah Tagel. For the men, winning flag prizes were Jeremy Hoefer (2), Dave Hoefer, Eric Schiltmeyer, Aaron Rasmussen, Kevin Dinslage, John Dvorak and Marty Knust.

Winning the putting contest was Mike Haith.