Newspaper Garners Four First Place Awards, Six Total In NPA Better Newspaper Contest

Your community newspaper, The Elgin Review, was again recognized for journalistic contributions during the 142nd Annual Convention of the Nebraska Press Association.
In competition amongst newspapers of similar size, in the areas of advertising, newspaper design and promotion, the Review received four first place awards and six total.
Judges from the Arkansas Press Association awarded the newspaper with first place awards in the following categories:
* Agricultural Advertisement — The newspaper’s first place entry was for an ad entitled “Knowing You” designed for The Bank of Elgin
* Editorial Page — Judges said good editorials like the one in the May 27, 2015 issue focusing on the death penalty vote by the State Legislature, focusing in particular on State Senator Kate Sullivan’s stance on the issue, merited the first place award being given to the newspaper.
• Public Notice and Its Promotion — A house ad designed by Publisher Lynell Morgan earned top honors. “Every newspaper in America should be publishing this,” the Arkansas judge said.
• Specialty Pages — The newspaper earned top honors for its “Salute To Agriculture” special section published April 2015. “Excellent overall, well-written information for the agriculture audience,” the judge said.
The newspaper also received two third place awards. One was for single retail advertising idea, black and white, for an ad entitled “Busted” citing the need for all dogs in Elgin needing to be licensed. The other third place award was for single classified ad idea, black and white, for an ad designed for Kallhoff Electric entitled “That Had to Hurt.”
“We’re grateful for the six awards we received in the “Better Newspaper Contest” sponsored annually by the NPA. “More important than awards to Lynell and I, is the commitment to continue to be the first place people turn to for real news, reliable news about our Elgin community,” said NPA President and Elvin Review Publisher Dennis Morgan.
The awards were handed out Saturday night at the convention held in Kearney and attended by nearly 200 journalists from across the state.