NECC Diplomas to be Awarded Saturday

The 40th Commencement of Northeast Community College (NECC) will take place on Saturday, May 11, at 10 a.m. in the Cox Activities Center on the Norfolk campus. The 10 a.m. start time is earlier than in previous years.
As of Wednesday, May 1, some 807 students, including those earning double majors and 169 who completed their studies last December, were to be listed in the commencement program.
Northeast President Dr. Michael Chipps will give the commencement address.
Amanda N. Lorenz, Osmond, will give the Student Address. She will receive an associate of arts degree during the ceremony.  Richard Chrisman, computer programming instructor, will give the faculty address.
Commencement Speaker Chipps was named the 8th president of Northeast Community College on January 6th, 2012. Prior to leading Northeast, he served as president for Mid-Plains Community College in Nebraska from 2003-2012. Previous to these presidencies, Dr. Chipps served as vice-president and chief executive officer of North Platte Community College in Nebraska and for 23 years held multiple instructional, student affairs, and administrative positions at Central Community College in Nebraska.
Visitors approaching campus for the 10:00 a.m. ceremony can tune to 101.7 FM for parking information.
A Touch of Brass, under the direction of Keith Krueger, will provide the musical prelude, processional, and recessional.  Dr. Linda Boullion, music department chair and director of choral activities, will sing the National Anthem.  She will be accompanied by Northeast Music Instructor Margaret Schultz.
The tentative graduation candidates, as of Wednesday, May 1, are listed below by state and hometown.  Key to abbreviations:  AAS-Associate of Applied Science; AA-Associate of Arts; AS-Associate of Science, and ADN-Associate Degree Nursing.
Clearwater — Laura Hemenway AA; Stephanie Petersen AA; and Kayla Spangler AA
Elgin — Traci Beckman Diploma Practical Nursing; Jared Beltz AAS Electromechanical Technology; Samantha Heithoff AA; Tyler Johnson AAS Drafting; Justin Kallhoff AAS Electrical Construction and Control; Karlie Schiltmeyer AAS Horticulture and Golf Course Management; Lauren Selting Diploma Practical Nursing; Brandy Suhr AA; Christopher Vacha AAS Wind Energy; and Gabriel Wiegand AAS Diesel Technology
Neligh — April Arehart Diploma Medical Coding; Travis Coleman AA; Jared Frasch Diploma Welding; Angela Hartz AAS Veterinary Technology; Kasey Hoffman AAS Agriculture-Agribusiness; Josh Hurtig AAS Diesel Technology; Hollie Jisa Diploma Practical Nursing; Tyler Schrage AAS Electrical Construction and Control; Colby Snodgrass Diploma Welding; and Jessica Werner AAS Business
Oakdale — Jared Hanson AS
Petersburg — Breanna Bode AA; Skyler Knust AAS Agriculture-Agribusiness; and Rebecca Voecks Diploma Administrative Assistant-Legal
Raeville — RoseMarie Fangman AS