Kittelson, Jochum Fill City Council Seats

One familiar face and one new face became official members of the Elgin City Council Monday night.

After the general election in NOvember, there were two vacancies to fill as Ward I Councilman Mike Schmitt became mayor and no one ran for the Ward II council seat which became open when Ken Jochum chose not to seek re-election. Last month, Jochum agreed to stay on the council until a replacement could be found.

At the January meeting, Schmitt made two appointments. First, in Ward I, he proposed Jim Kittelson serve out the remaining two years of the term. Kittelson is currently the fire chief of the Elgin Volunteer Fire Department. Kittelson was approved by a two-to-one vote. Voting in favor were Jochum and Shirley Nissen. Voting ‘no’ was Councilman Don Mackel.

Then, for Ward II, Schmitt proposed Jochum continue on in his current capacity. So, in the space of a couple of months, Jochum has gone from not seeking re-election to willing to serve until a replacement could be found to being appointed to serve another four-year term.

After Police Chief Bob Moore gave the oath of office to the two men, Jochum was elected council president.

Regarding elections, Moore submitted a formal letter of resignation to take effect at the end of January as Elgin police chief. He said Jochum approached him about serving as police chief more than 25 years ago and, since that time, “it’s been a very rewarding career, I can’t thank you guys enough.”

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.