Hoefer, Koinzan in District #18 School Board Race

Four candidates will vie for three positions on the District #18 Board of Education.

Two Elgin area residents filed before the deadline Monday, increasing the number to four seeking three spots on the board. Robert Hoefer and Janet Koinzan filed during the past week. They join incumbents Steve Heithoff and Ryan Reestman.

In the other local race, only one candidate has filed for mayor, that being Council President Mike Schmitt. Incumbent Shirley Nissen is the only candidate for the City Council representing Ward I. No one filed for the Ward II seat. Other filings are (* denotes incumbent):

The primary election will be May 11.