Fangman, Pelster & Henn Compete At State Wrestling Tournament

OMAHA — Wolfpack wrestlers shined on Nebraska’s biggest stage, competing in the NSAA State Wrestling Championships last week. Andrew Fangman, a junior, made his third appearance at the state meet and came home a medal winner — placing fifth in the Class D 152-pound weight class.
Pelster won both of his matches Thursday to advance to the semi-final round. It was there that he faced Devin Dibbern of Amherst. Dibbern came into the match with just one loss. He exited with just one loss, pinning Fangman in 1:54.
Fangman split his two matches Saturday, losing to Neligh-Oakdale’s Garret Allemang 4 to 0. He then wrapped up the tournament, winning the fifth place medal by defeating Noah Rutjens of Elkhorn Valley by the score of 3 to 0. He finished the season with a record of 37-12.
Ryan Pelster and Logan Henn were eliminated in consolation round matches Friday.
Pelster, competing at 145 pounds, made his second appearance at state. He opened up Thursday by pinning Josh Cinocco of Minatare in 1:23. In the quarterfinals that night, Pelster came out on the short end of a 12 to 2 score against Pleasanton’s Colton Lammers.
On Friday, wrestling in consolation round #2, Pelster lost a 5 to 2 decision to Jake Buhring of Sumner-Eddyville-Miller. Pelster finished the season with a 28-9 record.
Henn then competed in consolation round #1 Friday morning. Matched up against Tyler Kapperman of Arapahoe, Henn earned his first victory at state with a 7 to 2 decision. Later that day, Henn matched up against Sutherland’s Ryan Patrick. Henn put up a good fight on the mat, but lost to Patrick by the score of 2 to 0. Henn ended his season with a 29-11 record.
Individual results were:
106 pounds — Champ. Round 1 – Kale Fishler (Harvard) 29-15 won by decision over Logan Henn (Elgin Public/Pope John) (Dec 9-2); Cons. Round 1 – Henn won by decision over Tyler Kapperman (Arapahoe) 26-15 (Dec 7-2); Cons. Round 2 – Ryan Patrick (Sutherland) 22-15 won by decision over Henn 29-11 (Dec 2-0)
145 — Champ. Round 1 – Ryan Pelster (Elgin Public/Pope John) won by fall over Josh Cinocco (Minatare) 24-15 (Fall 1:23); Quarterfinal – Colton Lammers (Pleasanton) 43-1 won by major decision over Pelster  (MD 12-2); Cons. Round 2 – Jake Buhring (Sumner-Eddyville-Miller) 34-11 won by decision over Pelster 28-9 (Dec 5-2)
152 — Champ. Round 1 – Andrew Fangman (Elgin Public/Pope John) won by fall over Austin Johnson (Ansley-Litchfield) 12-20 (Fall 2:28); Quarterfinal – Fangman won by decision over Riley Dugan (Central Valley) 35-11 (Dec 2-1); Semifinal – Devin Dibbern (Amherst) 44-2 won by fall over Fangman (Fall 1:54); Cons. Semi – Garett Allemang (Neligh-Oakdale) 45-7 won by decision over Fangman (Dec 4-0); 5th Place Match – Fangman 37-12 won by decision over Noah Rutjens (Elkhorn Valley) 28-10 (Dec 3-0)