EPS ‘Blue Ribbon’ Assembly to be Attended by Governor Heineman

A public program will be held Wednesday, November 28, in the gymnasium at Elgin Public School to celebrate the elementary school being designated as a ‘National Blue Ribbon School.’
The program will begin at 10:30 a.m. Among the dignitaries scheduled to be present for the program are Nebraska Governor Dave Heineman, State Senator Kate Sullivan and State Commissioner of Education Dr. Roger Breed.
In September, the school was just one of six across Nebraska to receive the designation of a National Blue Ribbon School from the U.S. Department of Education. The award honors schools whose students achieve at very high levels or make significant improvements on their levels of achievement.
Other schools recognized were Omaha Skutt Catholic High School, Potter Dix Elementary School, Norwood Park Elementary School in Lincoln, Mount Michael Benedictine School in Elkhorn and Bloomfield Junior-Senior High School.
Altogether, 269 schools across the country were recognized with the honor.