EPS Art Students Bring Home ‘Purple’

The 7-12 Elgin Public Art students traveled to Wakefield on March 21 to compete in the annual “Big Show” hosted by Wakefield Public Schools.
Twenty other schools competed at the show. EPS students attending the show included Danny Smith, Shane Vanis, Tre Henkenius, Ryan Meis, Ashlyn DeWald and Tyler Smith.
When they arrived in Wakefield they hung over 200 artworks. During judging they could work on zentangling their tables in the activity room. They learned about zentangling (mediative doodling at last year’s Keya Paha show). Elgin Public students earned a total of 149 ribbons.  According to art instructor Rita Heithoff, the Junior High won 74 while the high school students earned 75.  The ribbon count included 15 Purple Judge’s Merit Awards for Outstanding work, 36 Blues or Superior, 76 Reds or Excellent, 21 Greens or Commendable and 1 Yellow for Honorable Mention work.
Purple ribbon winners were Angela Richart (1), Angela Richart and Tiffany Vaughan (8), and Tiarra Thramer, Luke Walsh, Taya Voborny and Jaime Hoefer (3).

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.