EPPJ Wrestlers Finish Second at Elgin Invitational

ELGIN — Eight teams competed Saturday at the 16th annual Elgin Wrestling Invitational held at Elgin High School.

The Elgin Public-Pope John Wolfpack wrestling team brought home a slew of medals from the tournament.

Four wrestlers (Anthony Hemenway, Beau Henn, Oliver Rivera and Devin Brown) brought home first place medals. Finishing second were Jared Seier, Sebastian Janssen, Austin Heying, Nathan Anderson, A.J. Braband, Nick Farmer and Dylan Heithoff. Other wrestlers who medaled were Shane Vanis, fourth; Tyler Childers, fourth; Allen Miller, fifth; and Shane Beckman, fifth.

Palmer won the team title with 251 points followed by EPPJ with 217.5. Other scores were Aurora JV 140, Nebraska Christian 106, Boone Central 104, O’Neill JV 46, Clearwater/Orchard 32, Boone Central JV 22.