District #18 School Board has five candidates for three seats

Five candidates will appear on the ballot in November for three seats on the District #18 Board of Education.
The deadline has passed for non-incumbents to file for election to elective office in Antelope County.
And, to the voters’ delight, there will be a number of candidates to choose from in November, not May, for the school board.
Election Commissioner Lisa Payne said Monday that because there are five candidates, they will all advance to the general election when voters will elect three.
Adding their names before the filing deadline were Janet Koinzan and Luke Hinkle. Koinzan owns and operates a number of Elgin businesses including InsuranceMart. Hinkle is the local manager of Prairie Breeze Wind Energy here in Elgin.
Candidates who have previously filed for school board are Ron Bode, Todd Heithoff and incumbent Lisa Welding.
City races
There were no new filings for positions at City Hall. Mayor Mike Schmitt will be unopposed as he seeks re-election. The same holds true in Ward I as Duane Miller will not face a challenger in his bid for re-election.
The same can’t be said for Ward II. Incumbent Mike Dvorak will face a challenge from Marty Henn.
County races
A check of the list of candidates/incumbents who have filed for county offices show just one race (District #3 County Commissioner) which will appear on the primary ballot in May. Incumbent Eddie J. Schindler (R) will face a challenge from Allan K. Bentley (R).
Other county commissioner races which be contested in November will be District #1 (incumbent Jerald L. Schwager (D) against challenger Dean Smith (R) and District #3 (incumbent LeRoy Kerkman (D) against Tom Borer (R).
Elgin resident/County Sheriff Robert Moore leads a list of incumbents who will be on the November ballot running unopposed. Others are Clerk of the District Court Judith M. Cole, County Assessor Kelly Mueller, County Treasurer Deb Branstiter, County Clerk Lisa Payne and County Attorney Joseph Abler.