Deadline Nears For Incumbents To File For Re-Election

Robert Hoefer of Elgin is the latest candidate to file for re-election to the District #18 Board of Education.
Hoefer is just the latest incumbent to file in what has been a slow filing period.
For the District #18 Board of Education, Hoefer will be seeking to be re-elected to a four-year term on the board. He was first elected to the position in 2010.
He joins Steve Busteed who filed for re-election to a two-year term. Busteed was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Kim Wells last May.
Incumbents who have yet to file for re-election are Steve Heithoff, Ryan Reestman (four-year terms) and Stan Heithoff (two-year term).
Across town at City Hall, Mayor Mike Schmitt has filed for re-election. After serving a number of years on the Elgin City Council, Schmitt was elected mayor in 2010.
Two incumbents on the Elgin City Council have yet to declare their intentions for 2014. Ward I City Councilperson Shirley Nissen and Ward II Councilman Ken Jochum’s seats on the council are up for election this year.

For the complete story, see the print edition of The Elgin Review