Busteed elected new president of District #18 School Board

Meeting last week, the District #18 Board of Education reorganized for 2018.
A new face will lead the school board. Board member Steve Busteed was voted by the board to assume the duties of president, filling the position previously held by board member Steve Heithoff. Busteed was approved on a 5-0-1 vote (he abstained).
Heithoff, beginning his 20th year on the school board, told fellow board members that it is not his intention to seek re-election to the school board and, by stepping down as board president at this time, it would allow him to provide guidance to the new president for 12 months before going off the board.
Other officers
Moments later, Steve Heithoff was elected as board vice president.
Two other officers were re-elected to the positions they held last year. Stan Heithoff will continue as treasurer for the school district while Doug Jones will continue as board secretary.

For the complete story, see the print edition of The Elgin Review