AKSARBEN Announces Pioneer Farm Family Award Winners

AKSARBEN Foundation announces 136 honorees from 59 Neb. counties for the 2015 Heritage and Pioneer Farm Awards. In order to qualify for Heritage Farm distinction, members of the same family must have owned a piece of land consecutively for 150 years; while the Pioneer Farm recognizes families that have owned a piece of land consecutively for over 100 years.
Since their inception, the Heritage and Pioneer Farm Awards have been granted to over 8,500 families from the state of Nebraska. These awards are presented in partnership with the Nebraska Farm Bureau and Nebraska Fair Managers Association. According to Kevin Kock, AKSARBEN Executive Director of Agricultural Initiatives, “These families have a long-standing dedication to agriculture and we want to honor their commitment to Nebraska.” Award recipients will receive one engraved plaque and a gatepost marker on behalf of AKSARBEN Foundation. These awards are presented during the annual county fair in which the land is located.
The Antelope County Fair presentation will be Saturday, August 1.

The following is a listing of the recipients by county:
Pioneer Farm Honorees (100 years)
Antelope County – Jamie and Paula Curtis, Royal, NE; Janice Hauser, Raymond, NE
Holt County – Arnold and Sharon Hall and Virginia Hall, Orchard, NE; Don and Marlene Dexter, Amelia, NE; Eric and Brenna Kohle, Stuart, NE; Regina Olsen and Mardelle Dennis, Grand Island, NE
Knox County – Gary and Marinell Neuhaus, Omaha, NE; Terry and Karla Nelson, Wausa, NE
Founded in 1895, the AKSARBEN Foundation is the premier philanthropic organization for the region’s top corporate and community leaders. With core values of leadership, education, agriculture and community, the AKSARBEN Foundation provides over $500,000 in scholarships annually, carrying out their mission of leveraging collective business leadership to build a more prosperous Heartland.