Central Plains Satelite

Wolfpack Winter Sports Banquet Held

March 21, 2012 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

The Wolfpack Winter Sports Banquet was held Tuesday night, March 14, at the KC Hall. Wolfpack Girls Coach Randy Eisenhauer recognized his team’s many achievements during the banquet.
“A few team accomplishments this year. They finished the year 16-9 … To finish where we did is a great accomplishment for these girls and they should hold their heads up high. They were Holiday Tournament champions and NVC Runner-ups, Sub-district champs (follow me) and District Runner-ups,” said Coach Randy Eisenhauer.
Recognized for their roles were:
Student Managers — Jordan Mescher, Jenna Parks and Taya Voborny
2011-2012 Basketball Participation Awards — Sharla Schindler (Fr.), Hayley Stamp (Fr.), Hannah Kerkman (So) and Ivy Prater (So)
Letter Winners (play in half of the quarters):
Sophomores — Stephanie Bode and Madison Voborny
Juniors — Chelsi Mescher and Sydney Schumacher
Seniors — Ashley Bode, Carey Eischeid, Kelsie Kuhlman and Lauren Selting
This group, Eisenhauer said, did break some basketball records. “In the third season of Wolfpack basketball we had three new team records and 10 individual records broke. The team took out the majority of the rebounding records as well as a few individual records on rebounding,” he said.
Two girls broke 10 records. Chelsi Mescher broke two individuals records. She has most rebounds in a career with 411 and most points scored in a career with 532.
Stephanie Bode broke seven records and tied another. She had most offensive rebounds in one game with 11, most defensive rebounds in one game with 14, most rebounds in one game with 18, most rebounds in one season with 240, most offensive rebounds in one season with 100, most defensive rebounds in one season with 140, and the best rebounding average for a season with 9.6. She also tied a record with best free throw percentage in a season with 72 percent.
NVC Awards
1st Team NVC — Chelsi Mescher and Stephanie Bode
2nd Team NVC — Lauren Selting
NVC Honorable Mention — Ashley Bode and Carey Eischeid
NVC ALL STAR GAME May 24th — Ashley Bode and Carey Eischeid. (Lauren Selting can not play due to injury)
KBRX Top Dawg — Stephanie Bode and Chelsi Mescher
Star Athlete of the Week — Chelsi Mescher
Academic All State — Stephanie Bode and Lauren Selting
2011-2012 Awards voted on by the team and by stats.
Rebound Leader — Stephanie Bode
Most Improved Player — Sydney Schumacher
MVP Defense — Lauren Selting
MVP Offense — Chelsi Mescher
Practice Player of the Year — Ashley Bode
Most Valuable Player of the Year — Chelsi Mescher
Wolfpack Dedication Award — Lauren Selting and Ashley Bode
Boys Basketball
Coach Mark Schmitt presented the boys basketball awards. They were:
Seniors — Nash Schindler, Evan Parks, Drew Schindler and Caleb Pelster
Juniors — Nick Heithoff, Ross Schindler, Andrew Heithoff, Lee Bartak, Trent Hoefer and Blake Anderson.
Participation awards — Juniors: Levi Kerkman, Christopher Bode and Beau Heithoff; sophomores: Jake Eischeid, Blake Schrage, Alex Pelster and Peter Starman; and freshmen: Kyle Heithoff, Jack Borer, Evan Schindler, Regan Kerkman, Tyler Smith and Ethan Fischer;
Student managers: Miles Schrage and Liam Heithoff
Individual awards:
Most Valuable Offensive Player — Drew Schindler
Most Valuable Defensive Player — Lee Bartak
Leadership Award — Evan Parks
Hustle Award — Blake Anderson
Most Valuable JV Player — Alex Pelster
Most Improved Player — Lee Bartak
Academic All-State — Blake Anderson and Lee Bartak
Wrestling awards handed out at the banquet by Coach Doug Jones were:
Most improved wrestler — Alex Grosserode
Wolfman Award — Brett Kinney
Outstanding Wrestler — Shane Vanis
Letterwinners during the season were Shane Vanis, Alex Grosserode, Brett Kinney, Austin Heying, Shane Beckman, Tyler Childers and Jared Seier.
Receiving participation awards were Jace Lammers abd Trent Bauer.

Suspects Sought in Robbery

March 21, 2012 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Northeast Nebraska authorities are on the lookout for two armed men after the robbery of a Pierce County convenience store.
Just before 12:30 a.m., on Tuesday, March 20, two male suspects entered the Prime Stop North convenience store, located 1.5 miles north of Norfolk along Highway 81 in Pierce County.
The suspects armed with a shotgun, stole money and merchandise from the store.
The suspects, white males both in their 20’s were wearing ski masks and driving a beige or silver four door 1998-2006 Buick car.
The first male suspect is described as being 5’10”, 160 lbs, wearing a tan plaid flannel jacket with a hood, blue jeans, white tennis shoes and yellow and black gloves.
The second male suspect is described as being 6’0”, 165 lbs, wearing a black “Hurley” long sleeve shirt with gloves and was carrying a blue and black backpack.
Anyone with information is asked to contact the Nebraska State Patrol Troop B Headquarters, at 402-370-3456.

Wyatt N. Dicke

March 21, 2012 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Wyatt Nathan Dicke was born on January 30, 2012, to Waylan and Kayla Dicke of Rural Creston, NE.
Wyatt weighed seven pounds and nine ounces and was 21 inches long, and was welcomed home by a sister, Kenna.
Grandparents are Paul and Diane Dicke of Ewing, and Keith & Colleen Kapels of Creston.

Notice to Bidders — Elgin Housing Authority

March 21, 2012 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Elgin Housing Authority/The Homestead
Elgin Housing Authority, HUD project #NE26R000031, The Homestead, located at 505 South Second Street, Elgin, NE is soliciting bids for reroofing.
Bids must include all labor and material costs associated with the new roof.  Contractor must provide a current Certificate of Insurance for General Liability and Workers Compensation.
Detailed specifications can be obtained by contacting Joy Ross, The Homestead manager at (402) 843-2339.
The bid will be awarded by the Elgin Housing Authority Board of Directors.  The board is seeking the lowest and best bid and reserves the right to refuse any or all bids.
Publish: March 21, 28 & April 4,

Request for Proposals — School District #18

March 21, 2012 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Sealed Proposals will be received at the Administration Office, 101 N. 4th Street, PO Box 399, Elgin, NE 68636, until 2:00 P.M. local time on April 10, 2012 for the following:  Replace gym ceiling.
RFP Documents can be obtained from the Administration Office from Steve Dennis, Superintendent. Telephone: (402)-843-2455.
Elgin Public School reserves the right to waive any informalities or minor irregularities; reject any and all proposals which are incomplete, conditional, obscure, or which contain additions not allowed for; accept or reject any proposal in whole or in part with or without cause; and accept the proposal which best serves Elgin Public School.
Elgin Public School is an Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action Employer
Elgin Public School
101 N. 4th Street
PO Box 399
Elgin, Nebraska  68636
By: Steve Dennis, Superintendent
Publish: March 21, 2012

« Previous PageNext Page »