Central Plains Satelite

Renewal of Liquor License — Steel Steed

July 20, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

NOTICE OF CLASS C

LIQUOR LICENSE

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to Section 53-135.01, a liquor license may be automatically renewed for one year from November 1, 2011 for the following retail Class C licensee to-wit:

“Thomas Pinkelman DBA Steel Steed Steakhouse & Saloon”

107 South Second Street, Elgin, Antelope County, Nebraska.

Notice is hereby given that written protests to the issuance of automatic renewal license may be filed by any resident of the City of Elgin, on or before Aug. 10, 2011, in the office of the City Clerk; that in the event protests are filed by three or more such persons, a hearing will be held to determine whether continuation of said license should be allowed.

Vicki S. Miller,

City Clerk

Publish: July 20, 2011

Proceedings — Antelope County Board of Equalization

July 20, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

ANTELOPE COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

July 13, 2011

Neligh, Nebraska

Notice of meeting published as required by statute.

A complete record of these minutes as well as all resolutions and agreements are on file at the County Clerk’s office and are open to the public.

Those responding to roll call:  Bolling, Brandt, Kerkman, Baker, Williby, Henery and Schwager.  Antelope County Assessor Heather McWhorter and Deputy County Assessor Kelly Mueller were also present.

Dana Sheridan protest for parcel 000045200 reviewed; accepted the county assessor’s recommendation of no change.

John Fuchtman protest for parcel 000398700 reviewed; accepted the county assessor’s recommendation to increase waste acres and lower land value to 241,790.

Brett M. Morrison protest for parcel 000610101 reviewed; accepted the county assessor’s recommendation to add omitted bins and value property at 1,073,330.

Frank C. Morrison protest for parcel 000610000 reviewed; accepted the county assessor’s recommendation to lower the improvement value to 395,520.

Wade Pitzer protest for parcel 000432801 reviewed; accepted the county assessor’s recommendation of no change.

Meeting adjourned.

Antelope County Board of Equalization

JERALD SCHWAGER /s/

Chairman County Board of Equalization

Attest: CAROLYN PEDERSEN /s/ Antelope County Clerk

Publish: July 20, 2011

Proceedings — Antelope County Board of Supervisors

July 20, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

ANTELOPE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Neligh, Nebraska

July 12, 2011

Notice of meeting published as required by statute.

A complete record of these minutes as well as all resolutions and agreements are on file at the County Clerk’s office and are open to the public.

Those responding to roll call: Brandt, Kerkman, Baker, Williby, Henery and Schwager.  Bolling appeared later.

Approved the following claims for payment.  We, the Committee on Claims, report that we have examined and approved for payment the following claims:

GENERAL FUND: Antelope Co Court, ex, 705.75; Antelope Co Dist Court, ex, 105.00; Antelope Co Resource Center, ex, 2242.00; Antelope Co Sheriff, ex, 1261.32; Appeara, ex, ex, 71.16; AS Central Finance, ex, 448.00; Larry Baker, mlg, 132.09; Merlin Bolling, mlg, 169.83; Harlan Brandt, mlg, 162.18; Braun Pest Control, ex, 25.00; Carhart Lumber, ex, 12.94; Carney Law, ex, 3247.57; Char Carpenter, mlg, 40.29; Izabel Chavez, ex, 166.95; Neligh City, ut, 3474.88; Clearwater Record, ex, 333.20; Judith Cole, mlg, 37.74; Consolidated Management, ex, 33.00; Cubby’s, ex, 89.83; Dollar General, ex, 6.75; Eakes Office Products, ex, 49.52; Elgin Review, ex, 325.44; Elite Office Products, ex, 299.95; Frontier Communications, ut, 1792.46; Gas Rite, ex, 2578.95; GIS Workshop, ex, 6500.00; Charlie Henery, mlg, 71.91; Holiday Inn, ex, 72.00; Jack’s Uniforms, ex, 696.61; LeRoy Kerkman, mlg, 36.72; Marian Kirby, ex, 304.00; Latimer Reporting, ex, 40.30; Diana Maloney, ex, 114.12; James Meuret, ex, 1707.00; Microfilm Imaging Systems, ex, 41.00; MIPS, ex, 493.05; Monroe Systems, ex, 54.08; Mr S’s, ex, 33.00; NACO, ex, 1464.73; Nebr Crime Commission, ex, 37.50; Nebr Workforce Delelopement, ex, 8162.00; Neligh News, ex, 33.20; NE Nebr Economic Development, ex, 875.00; NE Nebr RC&D, ex, 300.00; NE Nebr Area Agency on Aging, ex, 3933.00; OK Auto, ex, 40.57; Orchard News, ex, 189.40; Plainview News, ex, 12.27; Precision Repair, ex, 121.10; Protex Central, ex, 107.82; Redfield & Co, ex, 88.20; Region IV Behavioral Health, ex, 4076.25; Region IV Mental Health, ex, 2808.00; Jerald Schwager, mlg, 241.23; Nebr Secretary of  State, ex, 20.00; Dewey Teel, ex, 15.30; Joseph Smith, mlg, 203.49; Thriftway Mkt, ex, 316.96; Tilden Citizen, ex, 19.20; US Cellular, ut, 174.59; Wanek Drug, ex, 13.56; Willie’s Service, ex, 47.31

ROAD & BRIDGE: (Brunswick Area) Bazile Aggregate, ex, 576.00; Dollar General, ex, 16.00; Frontier Communications, ut, 66.94; Green Line Equip, ex, 135.50; Key Sanitation, ut, 18.00; Kumm Gas, ex, 3917.36; Lichtenberg Tire, ex, 265.00; Neligh Auto & Machine, ex, 202.98; North Central Public Power, ut, 121.70; Schoenauer Garage, ex, 62.80 (Orchard Area) Farmer’s Pride, ex, 3810.51; Frontier Communications, ut, 54.91; Green Line Equip, ex, 216.48; Kimball Midwest, ex, 217.67; Lichtenberg Tire, ex, 1801.60; Mitteis Gravel, ex, 1931.01; North Central Public Power, ut, 44.81;  T, J’s Corner Hardware, ex, 14.99; Orchard Village, ut, 30.50 (Clearwater Area) Elkhorn Rural Public Power, ut, 103.19; Farmer’s Pride, ex, 4991.25; Texaco, ex, 320.85; Mitteis Gravel, ex, 81.61; NE Nebr Telephone, ut, 50.68; OK Auto Parts, ex, 175.72; OK Tire, ex, 1275.30; Pollock Redi Mix, ex, 2001.62; Powerplan, ex, 863.43 (Neligh Area) Advanced Energy Fuels, ex, 2143.55; Cubby’s, ex, 133.20; Frontier Communications, ut, 52.17; Mitteis Gravel, ex, 299.00; Neligh Auto & Machine, ex, 53.28; Pollock Redi Mix, ex, 2084.77; Willow Creek Sand & Gravel, ex, 1280.00 (Tilden Area) Advanced Energy Fuels, ex, 2168.91; Constellation Energy, ut, 47.69; Frontier Communications, ut, 55.68; Matteo Sand & Gravel, ex, 748.20; Mr S’s, ex, 79.14; Carhart Lumber, ex, 1.98 (Oakdale Area) Advanced Energy Fuels, ex, 1731.03; Great Plains Communications, ut, 76.01; Green Line Equip, ex, 281.24; Mr S’s, ex, 176.35; Nebr Machinery, ex, 618.76; Pollock Redi Mix, ex, 414.11; Oakdale Village, ut, 12.75 (Elgin Area) Advanced Energy Fuels, ex, 2669.78; Central Valley Ag, ex, 5.34; Elgin City, ut, 52.50; Elkhorn Rural Public Power, ut, 56.97; Great Plains Communications, ut, 46.75; Green Line Equip, ex, 146.50; Pollock Redi Mix, ex, 936.77 (At Large) Advanced Energy Fuels, ex, 10,156.16; Ag & Industrial Equip, ex, 105.03; Appeara, ex, 140.91; Bygland Dirt Contracting, ex, 5205.65; Central Valley Ag, ex, 151.81; Cornhusker Inl, ex, 9.54; Cubby’s, ex, 38.12; Elkhorn Rural Public Power, ut, 346.43; Grand Island Trailer, ex, 4136.25; Texaco, ex, 1756.62; Hradec Diesel, ex, 1933.01; Island Welding, ex, 410.89; Jonny Dodge, ex, 5844.05; Kumm Gas, ex, 1619.62; Lazy T Tire, ex, 54.22; Lichtenberg Tire, ex, 116.00; Mitteis Gravel, ex, 2717.64; Mr S’s, ex, 591.93; Nebr Dept of Motor Fuels, ex, 1902.00; Neligh Auto & Machine, ex, 66.19; OK Tire, ex, 1373.80; Quality Iron & Metal, ex, 431.97; Rich, N, Stitch, ex, 57.00; The Station, ex, 417.87; Tinsley Grain, ex, 1382.25; 2M Auto Repair, ex, 124.63

VISITORS PROMOTIONAL FUND: Orchard Community Club, ex, 300.00

REAPPRAISAL FUND: GIS Workshop, ex, 11,500.00

BUILDING FUND: Binswanger Glass, ex, 456.72; Flenniken Plumbing, ex, 134.40; Nordby Construction, ex, 9784.34; Don Zegers, ex, 63.75

WEED CONTROL FUND: Bishop Equip, ex, 330.58; Neligh City, ut, 88.02; Frontier Communications, ut, 114.81; Robert Hofacker, mlg, 37.69; Edward Jensen, mlg, 13.85; Leo Market, ex, 74.00; William Van Brocklin, mlg, 24.98; David Willats, mlg, 63.90

GENERAL FUND PAYROLL: Total Wages, 61,878.96; WH, 6267.75; SS, 10,582.26; ST, 3181.04; AFLAC, ins, 124.80; Ameritas, ret, 9224.00; Ameritas, ins, 331.88; BC/BS, ins, 40,486.94; Colonial, ins, 3.25; 1st Concord, ins, 299.33; Madison National, ins, 108.32; Mid, American Benefits, ins, 247.50; Washington National, ins, 616.20

ROAD & BRIDGE PAYROLL: Total Wages, 41,463.02; WH, 3809.66; SS, 670.58; ST, 1383.54; AFLAC, ins, 469.83; Ameritas, ret, 5417.82; Ameritas, ins, 266.16; BC/BS, ins, 22,971.71; Colonial, ins, 64.80; Garnishment, 600.00; Madison National, ins, 87.81; Mid, American Benefits, ins, 120.00; Washington National, ins, 24.90

WEED CONTROL PAYROLL: Total Wages, 7230.38; WH, 827.50; SS, 1217.76; ST, 247.66; AFLAC, ins, 131.30; Ameritas, ret, 833.38; Ameritas, ins, 25.92; BC/BS, ins, 1288.07; Madison National, ins, 3.20; Mid, American Benefits, ins, 7.50; Washington National, ins, 36.40

SALARIES: July 2011

The following salaries are to be published each year between July 15 and August 15, according to Nebraska State Statute 23, 122, revised by LB299 in 1996.  Antelope County employees are paid on a monthly payroll.  The salaries vary in each department, due to job titles and the number of years of employment.  The following are payroll figures: GENERAL FUND: Supervisors (6) $11,000.00; (1) $12,008.00, annual; Officials (4) $41,000.00 ,  annual;  Deputies (3) $29,520.00 ,  annual; Part, time deputies (1) $15.14 hourly; Clerical (1) $31,377.00 ,  annual; Hourly ,  (6) $11.40; Part, time clerical (1) $7.25; Janitor (1) $10.90; Part, time janitor (1) $10.00; Custodian (1) $11.00; Sheriff (1) $44,298.47 – annual; Deputies (1) $29,835.12; (1) $27,189.00; (1) $26,574.00; (1) $24,624.00 – annual. Part, time deputies (1) $13.82; (1) $11.30; (2) $11.00 ,  hourly; Dispatchers (1) $13.00; (1) $12.36; (1) $11.40; (1) $10.32; (2) $10.00 ,  hourly; Matron $7.25 ,  hourly; Attorney (1) $42,319.14 – annual; Veterans Service Officer (1) $35,700.00 – annual; Zoning (1) $11.15 – hourly.

ROAD & BRIDGE FUND: Road Workers (11) $12.15; (2) $11.65; (3) $11.15; (2) $10.40; – hourly. Part, time road workers (4) $10.50 – hourly; Highway Superintendent (1) $1200.00 – annual.

WEED CONTROL FUND: Board Members: (5) $40.00 per meeting. Weed Superintendent: (1) $35,210.76 – annual; Clerical (1) $11.37 ,  hourly; Part, time sprayers (1) 10.98; (1) 9.85 – hourly.

Heard from Dave Maddock regarding an asphalt machine.

Approved the conditional use permit submitted by Central Valley Ag for a one million gallon fertilizer tank to be constructed on the NE 1/4 of Section 12, Grant Township.

Reviewed correspondence.

Approved the promotional fund request from Orchard Community Club.

Approved the June 7, 14 and 28, 2011 regular board minutes and the June 14, 2011 Board of Equalization minutes.

Reviewed the June reports submitted by the county sheriff, county treasurer and clerk of the district court.

Disregarded payment of the Helena Chemical bill.

Authorized the Chairman to sign the Long Term Care Administrative Agreement with National Insurance Services.

Approved the special designated liquor license for The Steel Steed.

Discussed overlaying and armor coating the oiled roads.

Accepted the bid from Rutjens Construction for the Clearwater North Bridge Project.

Accepted the informal quote submitted by Hoevet Construction for the bridge repair on 523 Avenue north of the county line.

Tabled the Old Mill Bridge Agreement pending further review.

Signed the resolution relinquishing a portion of 861 Road between 526 Avenue and 527 Avenue to Ellsworth Township.

Approved the contract with MAXIUMS for the Indirect Cost Recovery for the county.

Approved the Law Enforcement Agreement with the City of Elgin.

Received a quarterly report from the Veterans Service Officer and changed the office hours to 30 hours per week beginning January 1, 2012.

Meeting adjourned.

Antelope County Board of Supervisors

JERALD SCHWAGER /s/

Chairman of County Board

Attest: CAROLYN PEDERSEN /s/ Antelope County Clerk

Publish: July 20, 2011

Spinning Tales — Never Too Old To Cool Off at Swimming Pool

July 20, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

By Dennis L. Morgan

Publisher

Blame it on the heat.

It’s been years, but I finally broke down and did something that I thought I would never do again.

Before you get any funny ideas, I will never root for the New York Yankees, I have not nor will I ever believe our government owes anyone a living (welfare is only for the truly needy, not the kind whose family goes from one generation to the next living in a welfare state of mind), nor do I believe ‘anything goes.’ But, at 3:30 p.m. Saturday afternoon with the heat index well over 100 degrees, I dug out my Speedo swimming trunks (I mean trunks) and went swimming to cool off.

This is quite the heatwave we’re in right now and the weekend was especially dangerous for people and animals who didn’t find protection.

We decided to wait till after the afternoon rush had subsided before slipping up to the pool. Now, there were adults in the pool when I got there, so I wasn’t surrounded by youngsters. In fact, on Saturday, the number of people in the pool was fewer than I anticipated. Because of that, we could pretty much do what we want. At my age, that was bobbing in the water, making sure the water line doesn’t go over my head.

Speaking of my head, I don’t remember having a problem years ago with too much sun on the top of my head. But, such isn’t the case now. I wish I had some sort of protection for the hairline, but swim caps are only for the likes of Michael Phelps, Janet Evans and those Olympians who fly in the water. Here in Elgin, a seed corn hat would have to suffice. Maybe one of those made of mesh which allow the air in while protecting the dome.

It wasn’t so bad on Saturday, but on Sunday we spent more than an hour in the pool and the top of my head looks more like red salmon instead of George Hamilton tan.

Speaking of Sunday, floating around among more than 50 in the pool at that time I got to see some of the other adults in the pool display their diving skills. You could tell they were adults because when they hit the water, the splashes were much bigger than those of the youngsters there. Among the dives performed were the pencil, the click pen as well as assorted flips.

After they left, I was ‘forced’ to do the famous Morgan back flip popularized in the movie ‘Back to School’ by none other than Rodney Dangerfield (it actually was nothing more than a back flip). I haven’t done anything like that since the ‘Pool Olympics’ in Grant back in 1999. But, since it’s like riding a bike (you never forget), I grudgingly climbed the steps on the high board, walked out to the edge, turned around, bounced a flew times and did the dive. A 53-year-old man acting like a kid, well sort of. It wasn’t quite a full rotation as I didn’t nail the landing, my belly did however. Groans rose from the pool and lifeguard stand (Pool Manager Sue Vanis wasn’t impressed). The only thing impressive about the backward flip was the large red welt on the left side of said belly. It only stung for a couple of hours.

Front flips, back flips, and everything else was much easier years ago. Now, back in the days of my youth, ‘Kampy’ and I spent Sunday afternoons at the Seward Municipal Pool. It wasn’t a conventional pool by any means, it was round with a diving pool in the middle with one meter and three-meter spring boards and a four-level tower. Lifeguards were never safe from ‘cannonballs’ and ‘can openers’ especially off the high tower. The lifeguard stand was easily accessible and there was nothing they could or would do about the soaking. On most hot days, they were glad to get wet.

Those days are gone, but the pool, especially on these hot days, is the place to be.

*****

Elgin is very fortunate, for a town its size, to have a swimming pool. Pools have always been a rite of summer for children of all ages, and parents too. While many have benefitted from the pool thorugh the years, it is showing some wear and tear which, someday soon, will require some major upkeep. I’m sure the City of Elgin, who operates the pool, is planning for the day when the pool needs and gets a major facelift. Should the day come when the community no longer has a public swimming pool, we all will suffer for it. This pool is used by persons of all ages and its’ future should not be left to chance in the years ahead.

Pope John Paper Drive is Saturday

July 20, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

The Pope John students will hold a paper drive on Saturday, July 23.

Seniors and eighth graders are in charge of the project.  The following are contact persons:

Clearwater & Rural St. John — Scott Moser (402) 485-9252

Neligh — Jacob Ramold (402) 887-4170

Petersburg & Raeville — Greg Starman (402) 386-5318

Elgin — Chelsea Eischeid (402) 843-5987 or Sister Pat (402) 843-5461

They will collect:

1. Newspapers, phone books, paperbacks and shredded paper.

2. Magazines and slick papers.

3. Flattened cardboard.

Please note:

1. Papers must be  boxed or put in brown paper bags.

2. We may not collect any:

• hard covered books, unless the covers are removed.

• books, notebooks or calendars with spirals.

• plastic wrappers or bags.

Please have the paper at the pick-up locations by 8 a.m. on Saturday, July 23, or placed in the protected area in front of the St. Boniface Gym no sooner than Friday or Saturday but no later than 10 a.m. on Saturday.

« Previous PageNext Page »