Central Plains Satelite

Parks Led Wolfpack in Scoring During 2010-2011 Season

March 17, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

In Coach Mark Schmitt’s first season as head coach of the Wolfpack boys basketball team, the squad showed improvement as they progressed through the season.

The team put together a two-game winning streak late in the season before finishing with a 5-17 record.

“Defense was probably our team strength this year,” Schmitt said. “We held several teams to season lows on points scored. We were basically a young team with little varsity experience when the season started. I felt we made definite steps forward as the season progressed, gaining valuable game experience. Now we have to commit in the off-season to improving our skills to be able to compete at a higher level next year.”

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.

2010 Census Shows Population Decline

March 17, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

If you thought there were fewer people in Elgin and Antelope County, you’re right.

Data released from the 2010 U.S. Census showed Antelope County as being one of 23 across Nebraska who saw a population decline of between 10.1 percent and 18 percent.

Antelope County population, as recorded in the 2000 Census was 7,452. This time around, the population count was 6,685, a loss of 665 residents.

Here in Elgin, the 2010 Census showed a population of 661, a decline of 74 residents from 10 years ago when the population was listed at 735.

Our neighbors to the south in Petersburg saw their population drop by 41 to 333 persons. In 2000, the population was listed at 374.

The report was not all negative as the state gained more than 115,000 residents. Percentage wise, that’s a growth rate of 6.7 percent.

Other unique statistics derived from the Census were:

• More than half of all Nebraskans are now living in three eastern counties. They are Lancaster, Sarpy and Douglas counties.

• Sixty-nine counties lost population when compared with Census figures from 10 years ago. The trend reflects an increase as the previous Census (taken back in 2000) showed just 53 counties losing population.

• LaVista posted the largest percentage growth rate (35 percent) among the 20 largest cities in the state.

• Douglas County has the highest population (517,110).

• Boone County saw their population drop to 5,505 residents, a loss of 754 people from 10 years ago.

• Wheeler County saw their population dip by 7.7 percent from 886 in 2000 to the current population total of 818.

Business Trash Rates to Increase April 1

March 17, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Elgin residents will soon notice an increase in their utility bills.

At the March meeting of the Elgin City Council, Ordinance #626 was passed, changing the monthly trash rate business customers pay.

According to City Clerk Vicki Miller, in 1993 when the State made trash pickup mandatory, business trash rates were set by using what Boone County Disposal was charging. Recently, the city’s auditor recommended that a ‘structured’ business rate be implemented.

The new rates are:

• A business without a dumpster and once (1) per week pickup will be charged $13 per month.

• A business with a dumpster and once (1) per week pickup will be charged $17.50 per month.

• A business with a dumpster and twice (2) per week pickup will be charged $53.25 per month.

Apartment complexes where the apartment complex residents do not pay the City for trash pickup will pay $35.50 per month.

Miller indicated the new rates will go into effect April 1.

Residential rates will not change.

District #18 Board Accepts Teacher Resignation

March 17, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

There will be at least one new face on the faculty of Elgin Public Schools next year.

Meeting Thursday, the District #18 Board of Education accepted the resignation of kindergarten teacher Kate Zost. By letter, she stated her intentions to resign at the end of the 2010-2011 school year.

“This resignation is due to relocation for my husband’s new job,” Zost said. “During my time here, it has been wonderful to work with the students, staff members, administration, school board, and parents, all of whom helped me to grow and develop various skills as a professional.”

A search will soon begin for her replacement.

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.

This Week’s Classifieds: March 16, 2011

March 17, 2011 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

WHERE TO EAT:

SERVING EITHER Rib Steak or Prime Rib every Monday 6 pm – 9 pm. $10.95. Knotty Pine, 402-386-5488, Petersburg, NE.  1tfc

FOR SALE:

FOR SALE: Original Sunheat heaters and air purifiers. Dwaine & Deb Trease. 402-485-9264. Service on any brand heater.                   4tfc

BOOK FOR SALE:  “Exhaling: A Compilation of Columns and Short Stories” by Lori Krause.  Available at The Elgin Review Office, or by calling  Krause at 402-843-5309. 16tfn

FOR SALE: 125 Honda FourTrax and 300 Kawasaki Bayou Differential. Call 402-843-2408.         23p

WANTED:

A COLOR photo of the Mignery painting that was on the north wall of the old bowling alley. Contact Tom at The Steel Steed, 402-843-2167. 21-22c

HELP WANTED:

EVENT COORDINATOR Wanted for Werner Hall, Petersburg. Responsible for scheduling events and being present for those events. Contact Father Stan, 402-395-2393. 23-24c

Help Wanted: Full time CDL truck driver, benefit package. Applications at Ag Agronomy in Oakdale. Contact Jude at 402-776-2453.         23c

HELP WANTED: Tree Compost Supervisor, 2 days a week. Contact Elgin City Hall at 402-843-5822. 22-23c

 SERVICES:

PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 for two images. Appointments recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.    1tfn

CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.                    1tfc

FOR RENT:

FOR RENT: 2-bedroom apartment. Call 843-2373.   19tfn

FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.                   1tfc

CARD OF THANKS:

A “Big Thank You” to everyone sending cards, stopping by for a visit, bringing food and “especially” your prayers for my recovery. Everyone is so caring in our good town.

Clara Kamphaus

Special thanks for all the prayers, visits, cards and food since my recent surgery. Thanks also to Dr. Travis and Dr. Buzzell and to the Boone County Health Center therapy group for their wonderful care. God Bless!

Marcella Kamphaus

Thank you for your comforting words and visits to Stella and the family, they meant so much to her and us. The food and supplies brought to the house and hall were so thoughtful. Memorials, flowers, plants, statues, pictures, cards, calls and emails were such a tribute to her.

Sincere thanks to everyone including: AseraCare/Hospice, Huffman-Levander Funeral Home, Mark & Julie Dwyer for the comforting music at the wake, the St. John’s Guitar Group for the beautiful music at the Mass, St. John’s Altar Society for the Honor Guard, and for taking care of the meal and those that helped set up for the wake and funeral in any way. For all your help, whoever you were, we thank you.

Stella Stokes Family

We would like to thank all who attended our Spring Breakfast and bought raffle tickets. A special thank you to those who donated prizes for the raffle ticket.

Your support is greatly appreciated.

St. Bonaventure Parish, Raeville

A big “Thank You” to everyone who attended and helped in any way with the Cooking Demos held Monday night at the KC Hall. We hope everyone had fun and learned something new about cooking and re-using your old jeans!

St. Boniface Altar Society

 

 

« Previous PageNext Page »