Central Plains Satelite

Progress Being Made on City Park Campground

April 23, 2010 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

On a rare Tuesday night meeting of the Elgin City Council, plans moved forward for the development of a campground site on the east edge of Elgin City Park.

Councilman Don Mackel presented Council members with a proposed set of rates. Mackel suggested charging campers $12 per night for water, electric and cable TV. The fee would be $14 per night for water, electric, cable tv and sewer hookup.

“It’s a drawing card,” he said about being able to offer cable TV to campers.

He said soon the underground sprinkler system heads will be moved to clear the area. Altogether, there will be eight camper sites available. Each pad will have crushed cement to put the campers on. Check-in time will be 3 p.m. with check-out to be 3 p.m. the following day. Two boxes will be located at the site for campers to pay.

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.

Busteed Reaches 20-Gallon Milestone at Bloodmobile

April 23, 2010 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

The Elgin Public School hosted the Red Cross Bloodmobile on April 13, 2010. This was the first time we, here at Elgin have had the chance to use the double red cell machine. More information about the machine will be made available before our next drive.

The goal was 61 units, we received 58 productive units, so it was a pretty good day. There were a few award pins handed out, George Busteed - 20 gallons, Jeane Johnson - 13 gallons, Ron Scholl - 11 gallons, Deb Jones - four gallons, Steve Heithoff - four gallons, Steve Thompson - four gallons, Linda Kerkman - three gallons. 

There were seven first time donors. They were: Alann Braband, Travis Dozler, Patrick Beres, Nathan Anderson, Noel Voborny, Cortny Meis, and Brieann Grosserode.

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review

This Week’s Classifieds: April 21, 2010

April 21, 2010 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

WHERE TO EAT:

SERVING EITHER Rib Steak or Prime Rib every Monday 6 pm – 9 pm. $10.95. Knotty Pine, 402-386-5488, Petersburg, NE.  1tfc

HELP WANTED:

JONNY DODGE Chrysler Jeep in Neligh, NE is looking for a qualified individual to manage a busy diesel truck shop. Needs good leadership and people skills and be team oriented. Full time position with competitive wages and benefits. Send resumes to P.O. Box 67, Neligh, NE 68756.            25tfc

SEMI DRIVER Wanted: Full time position available. CDL, good driving record and experience hauling livestock required. Contact Len at 402-843-5672. Niewohner Trucking, Elgin, Nebraska.                          48tfc

NOW HIRING: Full time position available for a Farm Mechanic. Niewohner Bros. Feedlot, Elgin, NE. Call 402-843-5671.                20tfc

HELP WANTED: Personnel to work with livestock; must have experience in checking, treating, processing and moving cattle. Competitive wages and benefits. 402-843-5671.   28tfn

SERVICES:

PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 for two images. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.                     1tfn

CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.                     1tfc

WANTED:

Wanted:  Houses to shingle. 402-843-8106,  402-843-2131.            25-29c

WILL DO painting and house cleaning for the summer. Jill and Sue Schiltmeyer. 843-5678. 28-29p

FOR RENT:

FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.                   1tfc

CARD OF THANKS:

Thanks to the Friends of St. Boniface for the Traeger Grill that I won at the Spring Raffle. I could use a hot tub next year!

Dave Schiltmeyer

I would like to thank all my friends and relatives for the cards, visits, phone calls and prayers while I was in the hospital and since returning home. I’m feeling a lot better now. Thanks again.

Ervin Voborny

Thank you to the Salber family for the very thoughtful donation to the Community Center.  We are very lucky to have special people thinking of the Center!  We would be nothing without the help of wonderful people!  Thank you!!

Becky Evans

 

The key to success in any endeavor is teamwork. At the Marlene Oelsligle Benefit, we had teamwork. Our heartfelt thanks to all that contributed time, talent and food. Most of all, to the wonderful people who took the time to stop by and be part of the day.

The Committee

Thank you for the kindness and support since my surgery.

Shirley Thorberg

Thank you for all the kind expressions of sympathy when Van’s brother died. We appreciate your thoughtfulness and kindness.

Van and Kathy Volk

We would like to thank Elgin Public School for hosting the Red Cross Bloodmobile on April 13, 2010; Mr. Feeney and all the students who helped prepare for and also work the day of the drive. Thanks to Allen and Jeff for all the work you did, Lisa and Carla for the cookies and everything else, Esther for running all day to keep things going; Young N Lively for all the terrific salads and the Elgin Bank for the cups and napkins. A big thanks also to Gwen for taking your whole day to help with the drive. Special thanks to all the donors. It is a wonderful thing we are all doing, it means so much to be able to help so many.

 

Krebs to Compete in Boston Marathon

April 15, 2010 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Alissa Krebs of Neligh will be one of 25,000 participants competing in the Boston Marathon next Monday, April 19.

The 114th Boston Marathon will begin in Hopkington, Mass., and end in the nostalgic Back Bay area of Boston after covering 26.2 miles.

Alissa qualified for Boston after a strong finish in the Lincoln Marathon last May. Her qualifying time was even fast enough to place her in the first wave of runners to start the Boston Marathon.

In preparation for the Boston Marathon, Alissa has taken her training to an even higher level with hopes of a strong finish in the world’s oldest and most prestigious annual marathon.

Alissa is a 1994 graduate of Pope John Central Catholic High School.

Wolfpack Golfers Second at Ewing Quadrangular

April 15, 2010 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

EWING — The Elgin Public-Pope John golf team opened the season Tuesday, April 6, competing at the Ewing Invite held at Summerland Golf Course.

Battling cold temperatures and intermittent rain, the Wolfpack finished second out of five teams competing at the event.

Ewing won the competition wih a team score of 178. They were led by Philip Thramer with a 42 and Levi Napier carded a 43.

The Wolfpack finished second. Senior Curtis Childers led the way with a score of 44 over nine holes to finish fourth in the individual competition. Preston Schrage carded a 46 to finish sixth while Andrew Heithoff shot a 48 to finish eighth. Other Wolfpack scores were Brenden Henn 49 and Evan Parks 50.

For the complete story, subscribe to The Elgin Review.

« Previous PageNext Page »