Central Plains Satelite

This Week’s Classifieds: March 13, 2013

March 13, 2013 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

HELP WANTED:
Summer employment in the University of Nebraska Extension Office in Antelope County includes the following duties. These duties are, but not limited to: teaching 4-H project workshops; mentoring 4-H families and volunteers; organizing 4-H exhibits at the Antelope County fair and contributing to management of the 4-H program. Experience/skills needed include: Knowledge of the Antelope County 4-H program; working with school age youth; working knowledge of email, internet and Microsoft Suite; valid driver’s license; and the ability to work outside at times in the summer heat. Any successful applicant must also pass both driving and criminal record background checks and have a valid social security card. Some driving to 4-H events is necessary. To apply, submit a resume and cover letter by March 22, 2013 to: Anita Hall, Antelope County Extension Office, 501 Main Street Suite B9, Neligh, NE 68756 -or- ahall1@unl.edu  Hours/week: 40 hours. Duration: May 2013 through August 2013. UNL is committed to a pluralistic campus community through affirmative action, equal opportunity, work-life balance, and dual careers.   23c
DUE TO retirement, the Elgin Public Schools is accepting applications for a head maintenance position.  The position requires being able to do some lifting and general maintenance along with custodial duties.  It is a year-round position with benefits and the new hire will have some orientation time with the current employee.  Pick up application materials at the school office.  You can also contact Superintendent Polk with questions.    22-23c
HELP WANTED: UNL Extension in Antelope County will be accepting applications for a full time position (50% 4-H Assistant/50% Administrative Assistant) until 4:30 P.M. March 15th. Qualifications are: BS in education and/or related field; experience in working with school age youth; direct experience and participation with UNL and 4-H; working knowledge of Microsoft Suite, Internet, financial management; and approved Nebraska drivers license. Salary contingent on experience; benefit package included. Applications and resumes may be sent to UNL Extension in Antelope County, 501 Main Street, Suite B9, Neligh, NE 68756. For more information, please contact UNL Extension Educator Anita Hall at 402-887-5414. Antelope County is an Equal Opportunity Employer.    22-23c
Wanted: substitute school bus drivers and possible regular route drivers.  We are in need of CDL bus drivers to substitute for regular route or drive to activities. It does require Level I and level II training.  All driver training and physicals paid for by the school.  There is a possibility of a regular route available.  Please pick up application materials at the Public School Office and/or contact Superintendent Polk with questions.     23c
ANTELOPE COUNTRY Club is taking applications for cooks & wait staff, day, evening & weekends.  Please contact Lisa Hanson at 402-640-7465 or antelopecountryclub1@gmail.com for complete details.21-22c
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn
FULL TIME positions available for Shop Mechanic  And General Farm Help.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
BARTENDERS/WAITRESSES wanted. Call Tom at 402-843-2167 or apply at The Steel Steed Steakhouse & Saloon, Elgin.            32tfn

FOR SALE:
FOR SALE: 2009 Cadillac, DTS, 7,500 miles. Call 402-843-6461.    22-23p
HOUSE FOR SALE by owner. Two bedroom, 1 bath. Located at 409 N. 3rd Street, Elgin. Call 402-843-5464.    18tfc
FOR SALE: Sunheat heaters, fire places and Mountainaire air purifiers. Service on any brand heater. Deb and Dwaine Trease, Clearwater, NE. 402-485-9264.            6tfn

SERVICES:
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
FOR RENT:
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc
CARD OF THANKS:
Thank you for all the get well wishes, visits, cards and phone calls during my 40 day hospitalization. It was especially comforting having someone stop by almost daily with communion and knowing that so many prayers were said for my benefit. Thanks to all!
Percy Payne

This Week’s Classifieds: February 20, 2013

February 21, 2013 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

HELP WANTED:
ELGIN BUSINESS looking for part-time office help. Good communication skills,  computer skills, working with the public and previous office experience all a must. Hours - flexible. Send resumé with work history and references to Business A c/o The Elgin Review, PO Box 359, Elgin, NE 68636-0359.    20-22c
HELP WANTED: Experienced frame/finish carpenters. Will pay top dollar. Call 402-340-0146.            11tfn
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn

FULL TIME positions available for Shop Mechanic and General Farm Help.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
BARTENDERS/WAITRESSES wanted. Call Tom at 402-843-2167 or apply at The Steel Steed Steakhouse & Saloon, Elgin.            32tfn
FOR SALE:
FOR SALE: 4 - parts bins, 8’x6’6”x12”; Gas power washer, 2200 P.S.I.-6 H.P.; Rockwell 9” table saw; Craftsman stick welder, 230A; 10” Radial saw; Ridgid adjustable pipe threader, 1” to 2”; Ready oil heater; Transit level; New 12” carbide saw blade; 70+ good used slab house doors; 20” Scroll saw; Spray can paint filler; Siding louver punch. Call 402-843-5560.    19-21c
HOUSE FOR SALE by owner. Two bedroom, 1 bath. Located at 409 N. 3rd Street, Elgin. Call 402-843-5464.    18tfc
FOR SALE: Sunheat heaters, fire places and Mountainaire air purifiers. Service on any brand heater. Deb and Dwaine Trease, Clearwater, NE. 402-485-9264.            6tfn
SERVICES:
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
FOR RENT:
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc

CARD OF THANKS:
It is with heartfelt thanks that we remember everyone that helped care for our mother, Auralia Meis. A sincere thank you to Hospice, Dr. Dawson, and Dr. Dilly who helped make it possible for Auralia to be able to stay in her own home. Thank you to Fr. Ross Burkhalter, Fr. Bernie Starman, Fr. John Broheimer and Deacon Dennis Wiehn for the beautiful services. Also to Circle 1 for providing the funeral dinner and to the ladies who graciously offered to serve the wake. With gratitude we thank Tony Levander, funeral director and neighbor, for the beautiful, professional care. We appreciated all of your condolences, acts of kindness, food, calls, memorials and flower. We are so blessed to live in such a caring community.
Marvin & Jodine Meis
Arlene & Roger Gabelman
Jerry & Jane Meis
and families

The family of Darlene Schindler would like to thank everyone that made the celebration of her life so special with your visits, prayers, hugs, food, memorials, cards, plants, flowers, telephone calls and words of comfort. They were so appreciated at the time of her passing.  A thank you to Fr. Burkhalter, Deacon Dennis Wiehn, Huffman-Levander Funeral Home, Organist Rosie Schueths/St. Boniface Choir, Jodine Meis and Ladies for the Wake and Altar Society for the dinner. We can not begin to list everyone so know that in our hearts, your caring actions will always be remembered in this community.
Dave and Marilyn Sehi and family
Noreen and Neil Miller and family
Glen and Louise Schindler and family
Alice and Dan Holtz and family
Janie Score and family
Dale and Renee Schindler and family
Leroy and Kathy Schindler and family
Steve and Deb Schindler and family
Annette and Tom Snodgrass

I would like to thank my families of Arizona and Indiana for the surprise announcement for my 85th birthday on February 7. Cards and letters came from Albion, Bartlett, Elgin, Ericson, Grand Island, Greeley, Lincoln, Norfolk, Omaha, Ord, Scotia, Spalding, Georgia, Oklahoma and Texas. Also for the evening out, flowers, balloons, CD, candy, the Greeley TV channel, folks from the Greeley Care Home and Assisted Living. May God Bless everyone for their thoughtfulness.
Lucille Norris

Words can not express how thankful I am for the monetary donations that I have received and am still receiving since I fell and broke my shoulder. Also, thank you for the prayers, phone calls and visits. Also for the anonymous gifts that I keep receiving. A BIG thank you to my family and friends for helping me out when I call. God Bless you all!
Mary Eischeid

We are so humbled to everyone that remembered us with the many cards and wishes for our 65th Wedding Anniversary. We are so blessed to be able to share so many wonderful years together and with this amazing community.
LaVern and LuVerna Jochum

This Week’s Classifieds: January 23, 2013

January 23, 2013 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

MISCELLANEOUS:
Come see the consignment store everyone is talking about…Seconds on Main, Neligh - next to State Farm Insurance. Open Tuesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.    15-17p
HELP WANTED:
HELP WANTED: Experienced frame/finish carpenters. Will pay top dollar. Call 402-340-0146.            11tfn
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn
HELP WANTED:
FULL TIME positions available for Shop Mechanic and General Farm Help.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
BARTENDERS/WAITRESSES wanted. Call Tom at 402-843-2167 or apply at The Steel Steed Steakhouse & Saloon, Elgin.            32tfn
FOR SALE:
FOR SALE: Corn shuck bales. JD net wrap, no dirt, no stalks. Call John at 402-843-6164.    16p
FOR SALE: 130 irrigated acres that can be transferred. 402-929-0335.    15-16c
HOUSE FOR SALE by owner. Two bedroom, 1 bath. Located at 409 N. 3rd Street, Elgin. Call 402-843-5464.    13-17p
FOR SALE: Sunheat heaters, fire places and Mountainaire air purifiers. Service on any brand heater. Deb and Dwaine Trease, Clearwater, NE. 402-485-9264.            6tfn
SERVICES:
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
FOR RENT:
Apartment for rent: 2-bedroom, attached 1-car garage, Steepleview Apartments, call 402-843-8264.    14tfn
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc

CARD OF THANKS:
What a pleasant surprise Sunday evening when I answered the door and Mike said I won a gift certificate from the Open House at the fire station. Thank you so much. I really appreciate it.             Lois Bettendorf
Thank you to the EVFD for the gift certificate I won at your open house.         Joe Buelt
Thank you all who sent me cards, and for Bob taking me to the hospital and doing so much for me since I have been home. Also to Mary and Dave and Michelle for helping me since I got home. Thank you to Fr. Burkhalter and Fr. Stan for bringing me Communion while I was in the hospital and for the visits from my nieces and nephews since I am at home. Love to all.           Genny Henn
From the family of Ann Day…. We wish to express a heartfelt “thank you” to the St. Boniface Altar Society for the delicious lunch that was prepared for the family and friends of our loved one.
The family of Laura Kluthe would like to thank everyone who touched our hearts at the time of her death. Maybe it was a prayer, a kind word, a hug, a card, a phone call, food, flowers or memorial.          Barbara & Wayne Ives family
Julie & Jim Jochum family
Phil Kluthe and Jean & Ron Andrews family
Thank you to everyone who has sent cards and expressed their sympathy since the loss of my sister. We appreciate your kindness.
Shelley Bode and Family
Thank you to everyone for the support shown for the Q125’s fundraiser, the “Mr. Elgin” pageant. A special thank you to Chris Stamp for his performance of Marilyn Manroe during the evening.
The Q125 Committee

This Week’s Classifieds: January 9, 2013

January 9, 2013 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Elgin Review classifieds viewed on any other site are a violation of our copyright.

HELP WANTED: Experienced frame/finish carpenters. Will pay top dollar. Call 402-340-0146. 11tfn

TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len. 1tfn

FULL TIME positions available for Shop Mechanic, Pen Rider  and General Farm Help.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671. 44tfn

BARTENDERS/WAITRESSES wanted. Call Tom at 402-843-2167 or apply at The Steel Steed Steakhouse & Saloon, Elgin. 32tfn

FOR SALE:

HOUSE FOR SALE by owner. Two bedroom, 1 bath. Located at 409 N. 3rd Street, Elgin. Call 402-843-5464. 13-17p

FOR SALE: Sunheat heaters, fire places and Mountainaire air purifiers. Service on any brand heater. Deb and Dwaine Trease, Clearwater, NE. 402-485-9264. 6tfn

SERVICES:

Little One’s Daycare in Neligh now has Infant and Toddler openings. Call Jamie at 1-402-750-7527. 13c

PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.  1tfn

CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384. 1tfc

FOR RENT:

Apartment for rent: 2-bedroom, attached 1-car garage, Steepleview Apartments, call 402-843-8264. 14tfn

FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391. 1tfc

CARD OF THANKS:

Thank you for prayers, cards, phone calls, and visits.

Angela Meis

I would like to thank everyone for their calls, well wishes, visits and prayers after my recent knee surgeries. A big thank you to Dave & Gary for doing my chores. And a special thank you to Dr. Carol for her excellent care & patience during my recovery.

Jim Schiltmeyer

Thank you to everyone for the cards, phone calls & congratulatory wishes we received for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We appreciated all of them. Thanks to our family for being with us to celebrate. And thanks to the person who left the bottle of wine and meat & cheese box for us on Dec. 22nd — sorry we missed you. Thanks again and God Bless you all!

Gary & Bonnie Dinslage

Elgin Review classifieds viewed on any other site are a violation of our copyright.

This Week’s Classifieds: October 31, 2012

October 31, 2012 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

If viewed on any site other than The Elgin Review, this is an unauthorized use of Elgin Review content. All Elgin Review content is copyrighted.

 

WINTER HOURS:

E & M SUNNYBROOK Café will stop serving noon meals Monday through Friday beginning November 2nd for the season. We will be open two Sundays a month during the winter. Nov. 4 – 11 a.m. to 1 pm  serving a Full Breakfast Brunch; Nov. 18 – 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. serving a Roast Beef Dinner; Dec. 16 – 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. serving a Fried Chicken Dinner; and Dec. 30 – 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. serving a Full Breakfast Brunch. Adults $8.50, 10 & under ½ price. We’re located 9-3/4 South of Ewing or 1 mile West of Rural St. John’s. Will open for private business Holiday parties – Book your date today!  402-485-2206, 1-402-485-2268 or 402-386-5457. 3-5p

 

NOTICES:

No Obamacare, lower property taxes and smaller government, only one candidate will fight for these goals — www.brookcurtiss.com — Paid for by Nebraskans for Brook Curtiss, P.O. Box 141, Plainview, NE 68769.  2p

Place your orders now for Holiday rolls, buns, pies, cookies and cheesecakes. Also book your Holiday Company Parties at Sunnybrook Café. Call for details 402-485-2006 or 402-386-5457.       2-4p

 

WANTED:

WANTED: GRAIN and rock hauling needs.  Beckman Lumber, Inc. 402-843-2131.  14tfc

HELP WANTED:

WANTED: DEPENDABLE, hard working full-time employee, job duties include pump setting, drilling, and general laborer.  Must be able to obtain a CDL.  Benefits include incentive pay, health and dental insurance, paid vacation, and 401K.  If interested stop in at Grosch Irrigation, 2485 State Highway 14, Albion and ask for Matt. 3-6c

HELP WANTED: Hild Construction, Neligh, is looking for a qualified carpenter. Contact Kevin Hild, 402-309-5256. 3tfn

TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.   1tfn

FULL TIME positions available for Shop Mechanic, Pen Rider  and General Farm Help.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.         44tfn

BARTENDERS/WAITRESSES wanted. Call Tom at 402-843-2167 or apply at The Steel Steed Steakhouse & Saloon, Elgin.                 32tfn

 

FOR SALE:

FOR SALE: 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 sport package pickup. 91,000 miles. Call 402-843-6461.    4-6p

FOR SALE: Three bedroom house with full basement. New roof, big storage building and attached garage. Across from the Catholic church. If interested, call Ray at 1-800-248-2215, 402-741-1084 or 402-395-6585. 4c

HOUSE FOR SALE by owner. Two bedroom, 1 bath. Located at 409 N. 3rd Street, Elgin. Call 402-843-5464.    1-8c

COOKBOOKS: THE second printing of Young N Lively cookbooks  are available at Total Image Salon & Spa, Elgin Pharmacy & Gifts and The Elgin Review. Copies are $20 (includes tax).            1c

 

SERVICES:

PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.    1tfn

CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.                    1tfc

 

FOR RENT:

FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.                   1tfc

 

CARD OF THANKS:

I wish to extend a “Big Thank You” to my family, friends, neighbors and relatives for the cards, calls, concerns and gifts, and most of all the prayers, which were answered while in the hospital and since returning home. Thank you Fr. Ross Burkhalter for the special visit and prayers in the hospital. And I can’t forget to all who brought food to our home. We live in a “caring” community and we thank God for all our blessings.

Betty Mackel

We express our heartfelt thanks to all who kept us in their thoughts and prayers, expressed condolences, and sent cards, flowers, and memorials when we lost our dad, grandpa and great-grandpa. Thank you to Fr. Ross Burkhalter for the wonderful funeral service, and to Deacon Wiehn for the wake service and help with the funeral. To Tony and Dean, we can’t thank you enough for all that you did to make this time easier for us. Thank you, Rosie, and the St. Boniface choir for the beautiful music; the Altar Society for the delicious lunch; and the ladies who provided lunch after the wake service. Our sincere gratitude to Legion Post #229 and VFW Post #5816 for providing military rites. Dad was proud to call Elgin his home for many years. Thank you for being such a fine, caring community. God’s blessings to all of you. Sincerely,

Don and Janice Mollhoff and family

Mike and Judy Joy and family

I would like to thank everyone for all the prayers, cards, many phone calls during my recent hospital stay and since I have returned home. Special thanks to Julie and Lawrence, Carrie, Matt and Crawford for being with me at the hospital during my surgery and stay there. To “little” Larry for taking over on the farm while we were gone. To Judy for being at my side through this entire ordeal. Also many thanks to Bruce and Lila for the ride home from the airport and to Jim and Butch for checking in at the farm. Thanks to all who have been my drivers when I needed one! To all who brought food and who stopped in to visit.

Larry D. Petsche

Many Thanks to everyone in the Elgin area and beyond who supported our Calendar Lottery fund raiser.  We are now SOLD OUT. We wish you “Good Luck”, and remember, watch your mailboxes each day of 2013! 

Thanks for your generosity, “Friends of St. Boniface”

 

 

If viewed on any site other than The Elgin Review, this is an unauthorized use of Elgin Review content. All Elgin Review content is copyrighted.

 

« Previous PageNext Page »