Central Plains Satelite

This Week’s Classifieds: November 26, 2014FOR SALE: FOR SALE: Gun Cabinet-New-6 Guns. Shopmade. Just in time for Christmas. Call 402-843-5560. THE CITY of Elgin has for sale used 4’ x 6’ treated lumber in various lengths.Make an offer and you must take all of them. Offers will be accepted until November 28, 2014 and reviewed at the December 1, 2014 City Council meeting. Mailing address City of Elgin, P.O. Box 240, Elgin, NE 68636 For more information contact Elgin City Hall, 402-843-5822 6-8c FOR SALE: HOUSE AND furniture for sale. 202 South 3rd Street. For more information, contact Charlie Meis at 402-305-8859. 7-8 p HOUSE FOR SALE: 4 bedroom, 2-1/2 bath home located at 311 Pine Street. Completely remodeled and ready to move in. Call 402-843-2281 or 402-843-8324. 52 tfn HELP WANTED: ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY/Accountant Wanted. Responsible for district payroll, submittal of federal & state taxes, accounts receivable and payable, bank deposits and reconciliation, greeting and assisting customers with district programs, customer billing, answering and directing phone calls. Knowledge of Quick Books, accounting procedures, familiar with workers compensation and Microsoft office programs is beneficial. Post-Secondary Education in bookkeeping or accounting beneficial but not necessary. The salary range is $26,000-$31,000, plus retirement program, medical, vision and dental insurance, paid holidays, vacation & sick leave. Contact the Upper Elkhorn NRD for full job description at 301 North Harrison, O’Neill NE 68763 or download from www.uenrd.org. Please include 3 references when submitting your resume. Applications will be accepted until November 26, 2014. For additional information please contact the District at (402) 336-3867. The UENRD is an Equal Opportunity Employer. 5-7c HELP WANTED: Positions available for shop mechanic and pen riders. Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin 402-843-5671. 44tfn TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten. Must be dependable. References required. Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len. 1tfn SERVICES: CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384. 1tfc PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500. 1tfn FOR RENT: FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391. 1tfc CARD OF THANKS The family of Don Selting would like to thank everyone for the many, many expressions of sympathy shown us at this time. We are grateful to Fr. Ross for his visits; officiating at both services; Deacon Camp for his assistance and for the music furnished by the choir. Our thanks to the St. John’s Guitar Group for the beautiful songs played at the wake. Also thanks to the ladies who assisted with the gathering following the service and to those who furnished the cookies and bars. Thank you to the ladies of Circle 2 for preparing the lunch after the funeral. We appreciated the caring guidance of Tony Levander and the help of Dean Henn. The Honor Guard and Military Rites by American Legion Post 229 and VFW Post 5816 at the gravesite are always most impressive and touching. Thanks to all who participated. The untimely death of a loved one is just overwhelming. We are sure there are many more “thank-you’s” we may have missed, but, please know how much we appreciate the care, concern and support offered us. And, finally, to my wonderful family who have been by my side with their comfort and help. I will be forever grateful. Nancy Selting Leigh, Marsha and family Lynn, Amy and family Gene, Angie and family Jamie, Dixie and family Joseph, Tina and family The family of Bernadine Erickson would like to say “thank you” for your prayers, cards, phone calls, and support. We appreciate your kindness.  Korene Erickson Fehringer and Jim Fehringer Once again, we’re grateful to the Elgin EMTs for their quick response when we called for George. Thanks to all! George, Vida and family A Special Thank You to all for making our 50th Anniversary Celebration so special by coming to our open house, the many beautiful cards and nice gifts! We appreciate them all! Joe & Kate Knust With the Thanksgiving holiday upon us, it seems appropriate that I express my gratitude to family, friends and neighbors for the cards, calls, food, flowers and prayers since my surgery. I am truly blessed and appreciate your kindness. Thank you. Ann Simmons

November 28, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

FOR SALE:
FOR SALE: Gun Cabinet-New-6 Guns. Shopmade. Just in time for Christmas. Call 402-843-5560.
THE CITY of Elgin has for sale used 4’ x 6’ treated lumber in various lengths.Make an offer and you must take all of them.  Offers will be accepted until  November 28, 2014 and reviewed at the December 1, 2014 City Council meeting. Mailing address City of Elgin, P.O. Box 240, Elgin, NE  68636 For more information contact Elgin City Hall, 402-843-5822    6-8c
HOUSE AND furniture for sale. 202 South 3rd Street. For more information, contact Charlie Meis at 402-305-8859.    7-8 p
HOUSE FOR SALE: 4 bedroom, 2-1/2 bath home located at 311 Pine Street. Completely remodeled and ready to move in. Call 402-843-2281 or 402-843-8324.    52 tfn

HELP WANTED:
ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY/Accountant Wanted. Responsible for  district payroll, submittal of federal & state taxes, accounts receivable and payable, bank deposits and reconciliation, greeting and assisting customers with district programs, customer billing, answering and directing phone calls.  Knowledge of Quick Books, accounting procedures, familiar with workers compensation and Microsoft office programs is beneficial. Post-Secondary Education in bookkeeping or accounting beneficial but not necessary.  The salary range is $26,000-$31,000, plus retirement program, medical, vision and dental insurance, paid holidays, vacation & sick leave. Contact the Upper Elkhorn NRD for full job description at 301 North Harrison, O’Neill NE  68763 or download from www.uenrd.org.  Please include 3 references when submitting your resume.  Applications will be accepted until November 26, 2014.  For additional information please contact the District at (402) 336-3867.   The UENRD is an Equal Opportunity Employer.    5-7c
HELP WANTED: Positions available for shop mechanic and pen riders.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn

SERVICES:
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn

FOR RENT:
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc

CARD OF THANKS
The family of Don Selting would like to thank everyone for the many, many expressions of sympathy shown us at this time. We are grateful to Fr. Ross for his visits; officiating at both services; Deacon Camp for his assistance and for the music furnished by the choir. Our thanks to the St. John’s Guitar Group for the beautiful songs played at the wake. Also thanks to the ladies who assisted with the gathering following the service and to those who furnished the cookies and bars. Thank you to the ladies of Circle 2 for preparing the lunch after the funeral. We appreciated the caring guidance of Tony Levander and the help of Dean Henn. The Honor Guard and Military Rites by American Legion Post 229 and VFW Post 5816 at the gravesite are always most impressive and touching. Thanks to all who participated. The untimely death of a loved one is just overwhelming. We are sure there are many more “thank-you’s” we may have missed, but, please know how much we appreciate the care, concern and support offered us. And, finally, to my wonderful family who have been by my side with their comfort and help. I will be forever grateful.
Nancy Selting
Leigh, Marsha and family
Lynn, Amy and family
Gene, Angie and family
Jamie, Dixie and family
Joseph, Tina and family
The family of Bernadine Erickson would like to say “thank you” for your prayers, cards, phone calls, and support. We appreciate your kindness.
Korene Erickson Fehringer and Jim Fehringer
Once again, we’re grateful to the Elgin EMTs for their quick response when we called for George. Thanks to all!
George, Vida and family
A Special Thank You to all for making our 50th Anniversary Celebration so special by coming to our open house, the many beautiful cards and nice gifts! We appreciate them all!
Joe & Kate Knust
With the Thanksgiving holiday upon us, it seems appropriate that I express my gratitude to family, friends and neighbors for the cards, calls, food, flowers and prayers since my surgery. I am truly blessed and appreciate your kindness. Thank you.
Ann Simmons

This Week’s Classifieds: October 1, 2014

October 1, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

WANTED:

OPEN 9 A.M.-4 PM this Saturday. While shopping at the Elgin Fall Festival, be sure stop by Elgin Bargain Box. Regular Hours: Mon 4-7, T-F 10-5, Sat 10-1.    47tfn

WANTED: BAKED items for the Young N Lively bake sale at the October 4 Elgin Fall Festival. All net proceeds for the bake sale and cookbook sales to the Young N Lively and their commitment to our town through park improvements, etc. Please bring your items to our booth in the lobby of St. Boniface gym Saturday morning, October 4, between 8:30 and 9:30 a.m. Please mark what the item is. Cookbooks — reduced price!–will also be for sale. Thank you!

NOTICE:
OPEN HOUSE. Sat., Oct. 4 from 2-5 p.m. 608 E Second St., Neligh, NE. 2 bedroom ranch style with full basement, handicap accessible, 1-1/2 bath, fireplace, one car garage with underground sprinklers. Questions call 402-485-2496.    52c


FOR SALE:

HOUSE AND furniture for sale. 202 South 3rd Street. For more information, contact Charlie Meis at 402-305-8859.    52p
HOUSE FOR SALE: 4 bedroom, 2-1/2 bath. 311 Pine Street. Completely remodeled and ready to move in. Call 402-843-2281 or 402-843-8324.    52 tfn
FOR SALE: New blue Lift Chair. Used one year. Also Mastercraft couch and loveseat.  Call 402-485-2496.    52c
OPEN 9 A.M.-4 PM this Saturday only. While shopping at the Elgin Fall Festival, be sure stop by Elgin Bargain Box. Regular Hours, Mon 4-7, T-F 10-5, Sat 10-1.    47tfn
HELP WANTED:
HELP WANTED: Part-time, nights and weekends. The Station, 402-843-5812.    51c
HELP WANTED:  Truck driver needed during harvest. Contact Oak Creek Ranch at 402-843-2451.    49tfn
HELP WANTED for building construction crew. Call Brian at 402-843-8106 or Beckman Lumber at 402-843-2131.    33tfc
HELP WANTED: Positions available for shop mechanic and pen riders.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn
SERVICES:
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn

FOR RENT:
STORAGE UNITS for rent: 11 X 24 and 12 X 12. Beckman Lumber Inc.  402-843-2131.    6tfn
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc
CARD OF THANKS
A big thank you for all the prayers, cards, flowers and memorials that we received in the passing of our grandson Jordan, from our family, friends and the community. We would also like to thank the Elgin Rescue Unit for their response to our call for Gale and transporting to Boone County Health Center. Your thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated.          Gale and Barb Mahnke
It is with thankful hearts that we write this message to all of you who remembered Jean Goscha and her loved ones with your prayers and generous acts of kindness.  We are always aware of what a blessing family, friends, neighbors, and colleagues are, but never more so than at the time of illness and death.  We are also grateful for the excellent health care provided by Sharon Grossman, the staff at the Golden Living Center, and AsceraCare Hospice;  the professional services provided by Tony Levander and staff at Levander Funeral Homes; and the spiritual support given by Fr. John Broheimer. We appreciate all you have done.                 The Family of Jean Goscha

This Week’s Classifieds: September 3, 2014

September 3, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

GIVE AWAY:
TO GIVE away: Full size Turco gas grill. Phone 402-843-5639.        48p
EVENTS:
Rafts of Crafts, November 8 at Neligh. For table registrations, call 402-887-4857.     48c
WANTED:
WANTED: DONATIONS, especially furniture. 50% off children’s clothing, size 0-8, now through September 8th. Open: Mon 4-7, T-F 10-5, Sat 10-1. Elgin Bargain Box.    47tfn
HELP WANTED:
HELP WANTED: The Albion Dental Clinic is looking to hire a part-time dental assistant. We are looking for a hard-working, friendly addition to our team for Tuesdays and Fridays. Experience as a dental assistant is preferred, but on-job training is available. Please send resumé to the Albion Dental Clinic, P.O. Box 5, Albion, Nebraska 68620.    48-49c
HELP WANTED for building construction crew. Call Brian at 402-843-8106 or Beckman Lumber at 402-843-2131.    33tfc
HELP WANTED: Positions available for shop mechanic and pen riders.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn
SERVICES:
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn
FOR RENT:
STORAGE UNITS for rent: 11 X 24 and 12 X 12. Beckman Lumber Inc.  402-843-2131.    6tfn
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc
CARD OF THANKS:
We would like to say “thank you” to the Saint Boniface parishioners for honoring us with the Volunteer of the Year Award. It means a lot to be considered by the good people of Saint Boniface. We do appreciate all the support from so many others. Without your help, we couldn’t do what we do. May God Bless You All!              Sincerely, the Baums

This Week’s Classified: August 27, 2014

August 27, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

WANTED:

WANTED: DONATIONS, especially furniture. 50% off children’s clothing, size 0-8, now through September 8th. Open: Mon 4-7, T-F 10-5, Sat 10-1. Elgin Bargain Box.    47tfn

HELP WANTED:

HELP WANTED for building construction crew. Call Brian at 402-843-8106 or Beckman Lumber at 402-843-2131.    33tfc
HELP WANTED: Positions available for shop mechanic and pen riders.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn

SERVICES:
CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn

FOR RENT:
STORAGE UNITS for rent: 11 X 24 and 12 X 12. Beckman Lumber Inc.  402-843-2131.    6tfn
FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391.    1tfc

CARD OF THANKS:
“Thank You” for the memorials, cards, flowers and phone calls we received at the passing of our sister Koreen. To Fr. Ross for the nice service, the funeral committee for the lunch and Tony Levander for his support and kindness. It was greatly appreciated!              The family of Koreen Benda
We would like to thank all the sponsors for supporting the 32nd Annual Nebraska State Antique Tractor & Horse Plowing Bee held this past weekend west of Petersburg. Also thanks to the volunteers who help make this a success every year!                   Rae Valley Heritage Committee
A special thanks to Phil Stuhr for the use of “The Grill”,  the Bank of Elgin, CVA and Starman Seed Service for the paper products, Jim and Anne Meis and Ed and Sandy Moser for the fresh produce and to those won donated to help defray the cost of the food for the Wolfpack Tailgate.   Thanks also to Dean’s Market for their willingness to assist our schools in their activities.  Thank you to the administration and coaches for hosting the evening and everyone who attended.
We would like to thank all who helped us have another successful blood drive, KCs for the use of the Hall, Bank of Elgin for the cups & napkins, Altar Society for the delicious salads, Young N Lively for the wonderful bars & cookies, Esther for donating the ham. Buddy, Vida, Pauline, JoAnn, Esther, Barb, Sandy, Donna & Kira for all your work. Mrs. Bartak & all the Pope John students for helping unload & set up. Ryan, Rider, Dylan, Austin & Caleb for helping load & cleanup. Thanks to all the donors who came & to the Elgin Review who gets the word out for us.  This would not be possible without your help.                       Darline & Lori, Elgin Bloodmobile

This Week’s Classifieds: July 9, 2014

July 10, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

FOR SALE:
- TIME TO order Colorado peaches and pears. Peaches: $29 - 20# lug; $15 - ½ lug. Pears: $25 - 20# lug; $13 - ½ lug. Call Jim Fredrickson at 402-843-5427 or 402-843-0135 to place an order.            39-41c
WANTED:
- LOOKING FOR photos of the Elgin Q125 Beard Contest. Contact Sue Mailhot at 402-291-0171 or email her at suemvb@cox.net.    40p
HELP WANTED:
- FULL TIME/part time help. 3 positions available. Reference and background checks required. Contact Heather at  Park Center Daycare. 402-843-2244.    40-42c
- ANTELOPE COUNTY Producers a swine producer north of Tilden, Nebraskais hiring for day, evening and night shifts Will train right candidates.  We offer great pay and benefits, quarterly bonus, 100% health insurance, simple IRA with cost matching.Contact Brian at308-289-1279 or 402-368-7795
- HELP WANTED: The Elgin Post Office is now looking for a rural sub. carrier. If interested, contact Sandy at the Elgin Post Office at 402-843-5921 before July 23rd.            40-41c
- EXCELLENT EMPLOYMENT opportunity as an automotive technician. Must have own hand tools and be willing to complete Chrysler Service training. Having previous Chrysler training or experience is a plus. We offer competitive wages and benefits. Contact Jon or Steve at Jonny Dodge Chrysler Jeep for an interview. Phone 402-887-4182.        38c
- FULL TIME Mechanic needed. Looking for a responsible and motivated person. Experience preferred. Will be expected to do auto and light truck repairs. Call or stop in at Precision Repair N. Hwy 14, Elgin 402-843-2181
- HELP WANTED for building construction crew. Call Brian at 402-843-8106 or Beckman Lumber at 402-843-2131.    33tfc
- HELP WANTED: Positions available for shop mechanic and pen riders.  Health and other benefits available, Niewohner Feedlot, Elgin  402-843-5671.        44tfn
- TRUCK DRIVER to haul gluten.  Must be dependable. References required.  Will train. Call 402-843-5672 ask for Len.    1tfn

SERVICES:
- CALL US for fresh flowers, plants, balloon bouquets. Will deliver to Elgin. Flower Corner, 402-887-4441 or 1-800-590-2384.     1tfc
- PASSPORT PHOTOS: Official U.S. and foreign passport and Visa photos available here. Available in under ten minutes. $10 plus tax. Appointments highly recommended. The Elgin Review, 116 South 2nd St, Elgin NE. 402-843-5500.      1tfn
FOR RENT:
- FOR RENT: One bedroom apartment, rent based on income. Utilities included. Washer and dryer in each unit. Call 402-843-2339 or 402-843-2230. The Homestead.  This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.  36tfn
- STORAGE UNITS for rent: 11 X 24 and 12 X 12. Beckman Lumber Inc.  402-843-2131.    6tfn
- FOR RENT: Smith’s Storage Buildings, Elgin. Clean, dry and secure. Sizes 8’ x 16’ and up to 12’ x 24’. Prices start at $28/month. Contact Lee or Marie Smith. 402-843-2391 or call 402-843-5430.    1tfc

Next Page »