Central Plains Satelite

EHS One Acts Compete In NVC - East Division

November 19, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

dsc_7317The Elgin High School One Act team finished in seventh place in Tuesday’s NVC competition held in Neligh.  Members of the team receiving Outstanding Performance Awards were Alois Warner, Christopher Bush, Tera Henkenius and Sharla Schindler.  Next competition will be district, being held in Leigh on Dec. 2  E-R photos

Selting, Parks Earn All-NVC First Team Honors

November 17, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Two members of the Elgin Public-Pope John volleyball team have been named to the All-NVC Conference first team.
The selections were made by coaches in the conference.
Representing the Wolfpack on the first team are junior Jenna Parks and sophomore Liz Selting.
Other athletes named to the first team were Mackenzie Wecker, St. Mary’s; Courtni Kunz, Stuart; Bridget Schneider, St. Mary’s; Krissy Krotter, St. Mary’s; Katie Koenig,  Ewing; Monique Schafer, Stuart; Sydney Hupp, St. Mary’s; Brittany Hanzlik, Stuart; Jacie Laetsch, CWC; and Mallory Cooper,  Clearwater/Orchard.
Heading up the second team selections was sophomore Baylee Wemhoff of EPPJ.
Other second team selections were Harlee Fischer, Stuart; Riley Sibbel, St. Mary’s; Marissa Koenig, CWC; Lydia Fry, Ewing; Briana Stelling, Clearwater/Orchard; Emily Pongratz, St. Mary’s; Kassidy Jelinek, West Holt; Jaden Schafer, Stuart; Hailey Paxton, Stuart; Kara Bruns, North Central; and Drew Purviance, Boyd County.
Earning honorable mention were senior Taylor Schumacher, sophomore Jordan Mescher and junior Terri Seier of EPPJ. Others chosen were Tracy Chvala, St. Mary’s; Rachel Stewart, North Central; Jentrie Maurer, North Central; Bailey Kraus, West Holt; Jessie Mohnsen, West Holt; Amber Bendig, Boyd County; Alyssa Rood, Elkhorn Valley; Logan Jensen, Elkhorn Valley; Trisha Fox, Stuart; Chase Vleck, Neligh-Oakdale; Kinsley Klabenes, Neligh-Oakdale; Dawn Marie Klabenes, CWC; Sierra Hansen, West Holt; Madison Rossmeier, Boyd County; Kinsley Macke,  Clearwater/Orchard; Katie Funk, Clearwater/Orchard; Tami Jo Marcellus, CWC; Reagan Larsen, Niobrara/Verdigre; and Brittany Eisenhauer, Niobrara/Verdigre.

PJCC Dinner Theatre Cast Readies For Performance

November 14, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Cast members, stage crew members and directors are fine-tuning things for this year’s Pope John XXIII Central Catholic High School dinner theatre.  This year, the school will present “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” on Saturday, November 22.  Photo submitted

Some Photos From Elgin’s Veterans Day Program

November 13, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Two Elgin FFA Members Awarded National American FFA Degrees

November 13, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Each year, the National FFA Organization honors FFA members who show the utmost dedication to the organization through their desire to develop their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.
The American FFA Degree is bestowed upon a select group of students in recognition of their years of academic and professional excellence.
This year, 3,765 American Degrees were awarded.
Devon Baum and Tyler Childers, members of the Elgin FFA chapter,  were awarded the American FFA Degree at the 2014 National FFA Convention & Expo Oct. 29-Nov. 1 in Louisville, Ky.
Sponsored by ADM Crop Risk Services, Case IH, DuPont Pioneer, Elanco, Farm Credit and Syngenta as a special project of the National FFA Foundation, the award recognizes demonstrated ability and outstanding achievements in agricultural business, production, processing or service programs.
To be eligible, FFA members must have earned and productively invested $7,500 through a supervised agricultural experience program in which they start, own or hold a professional position in an existing agriculture enterprise. Recipients must also complete 50 hours community service and demonstrate outstanding leadership abilities and civic involvement.
Each recipient of the American FFA Degree receives a gold American FFA Degree key and a certificate after being recognized on stage at that national convention.
Although Devon and Tyler were unable to attend due to college and work commitments their awards will be given to them by Advisor, Mrs. Schwartz.
The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 579,678 student members in grades seven through 12 who belong to one of 7,570 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

« Previous PageNext Page »