Central Plains Satelite

State Track Qualifiers!

May 16, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 


The Wolfpack state track qualifiers (l-r): Blake Schrage in the 110 High Hurdles, Jill Schindler in the 200 Meter Dash, Jenna Parks in the 1600 Meter Run, Taylor Schumacher in the 400 Meter Dash and 800 Meter Run, Madi Voborny in the 100 Meter Low Hurdles and Ryan Pelster in the 1600 Meter Run. Congratulations to the girls team for earning District Runner-up. And “good job” to all the Wolfpack track athletes competing at Districts and throughout the year. Photo submitted

District Golf Meet Set For Monday At Fairplay

May 15, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

The Wolfpack golf team will seek a return trip to the State Golf Tournament when they compete at the C-3 District meet.
The event will be Monday, May 19 at Fairplay Golf Course near Battle Creek.
Teams competing will be Arcadia/Loup City, Battle Creek, Bloomfield, Crofton, EPPJ, Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family, Lutheran High Northeast, Madison, Neligh-Oakdale, Niobrara/Verdigre, Norfolk Catholic, Ord, Plainview and Twin River.

Wolfpack To Compete At C-7 District Track Meet On May 15

May 8, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

The biggest track meet of the season for EPPJ athletes will be Thursday, May 15. On that day, the Wolfpack will compete at the C-7 District Track & Field Meet to be held at West Holt High School.
Field events will begin at 2 p.m. with running events to follow later that afternoon.
In addition to EPPJ, other schools to compete at the district meet will be Ainsworth, Boyd County, Burwell, Creighton, Neligh-Oakdale, Niobrara/Verdigre and West Holt.

Wolfpack Take Second At NVC Tournament

May 8, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

NELIGH — Paced by three golfers who finished among the top 15, the EPPJ Wolfpack golf team placed second Thursday at the NVC Golf Tournament.
Played at the Antelope Country Club in cool, windy conditions, West Holt captured the team championship with a 340 team score.
EPPJ finished second with a 384, two strokes ahead of third place North Central at 386. Other team scores were Clearwater/Orchard 388, Boyd County 398, Neligh-Oakdale 400, Ewing 407, CWC 439, Niobrara-Verdigre 543, Santee and Elkhorn Valley competed but did not figure in the team scoring.
Medalist at the tournament was Cameron Schumacher of West Holt who finished with an 82.
Freshman Chad Bode led the Wolfpack, shooting an 18-hole score of 89 to finish eighth. He had a front nine score of 43, then shot 46 on the back nine.
Teammate Kyle Heithoff shot a (48-42) 90 to finish ninth in the individual scoring. Also placing in the top 15 was Miles Schrage who was 13th with a (47-46) 93 on his scorecard.
Other Wolfpack varsity scores were Jack Borer (60-52) 112 and Regan Kerkman (62-60) 122.
“Our golfers put up a front nine that wasn’t our best, but was good enough to keep us in the running.  We were tied for third, but only five strokes ahead of fifth place at the turn, and I knew we were going to have to golf a better back nine if we wanted a chance to medal as a team,” said Coach Jake Sladky.
“My top two golfers didn’t put up their best scores of the season, which was understandable considering the cold windy conditions of the morning, but our front nine was being held together by a personal best score from our #3 golfer, Miles Schrage.
“I knew that if those three could find a way to shoot lower scores on the back nine we would still have a chance to place in the top four. At the end of the day, Chad Bode and Kyle Heithoff shot well enough on the back to both place in the top 10.  Which was of no surprise, those two have been playing solid golf all year.  It was another personal best round from Miles Schrage as well as a personal best from Jack Borer that helped our team jump up into the runner up spot.  I’m proud of the way our team was able to grind it out in another cold and windy tournament, and I look forward to being able to see them shoot even lower scores as the second half of the season continues,” Sladky said.

Schumacher, Schrage Medal At Northeast Nebraska Track Classic

May 2, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

NORFOLK — Three Wolfpack athletes competed Thursday at the Northeast Nebraska Track Classic.
The classic features the best track athletes in this part of the state. Elgin Public-Pope John had three individuals compete in their best events, two of the three bringing home medals.
Wolfpack long distance runner Taylor Schumacher finished fourth in the girls 800 meter run. She posted a time of 2:31.87. Winning the event was Quinn Wragge of Crofton with a time of 2:27.09.
EPPJ senior hurdler Blake Schrage placed sixth in the 300 meter intermediate hurdles. Schrage finished with a time of 43.04 seconds. Winning the event was Cameron Kiner of Oakland-Craig with a time of 41.47 seconds.
Also competing on this day was the Wolfpack’s Ryan Pelster. As one of the chosen athletes to compete in the 3200 meter run, Pelster finished ninth with a time of 10:41.68. Winning the event was Cameron Moes of Osmond, crossing the finish line in 10:16.37.

« Previous PageNext Page »