Central Plains Satelite

Heithoff To Play In All-Star Game Saturday

June 11, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Wolfpack football standout Kyle Heithoff will be a member of the White Team competing Saturday at the 3rd Annual Red vs. White Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic.
Dr. Jon Cerny of Bancroft-Rosalie will be leading the White Team, while Tony Hoffman of Crofton will be directing the Red Team when the two squads meet at Norfolk’s Veteran’s Memorial Field. Kickoff is slated for 1 p.m. The Red Team leads the series, 2-0.

Wolfpack Wrestling

June 10, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

wrestling-camp-wolfpack-elgin-review_0033Congratulations to Coach Doug Jones, his assistant coaches and team members. The wrestlers participating in the UNK (University of Nebraska-Kearney) wrestling camp finished as Runner Up in Division 2 Team Challenge.  Great job to the coaches and athletes!  Photo submitted

Bode, Heithoff Compete At State Golf Tournament

June 4, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Two Wolfpack golfers finished in the top 25 of individuals at the Class D State Golf Tournament which concluded Thursday at Meadowlark Golf Course in Kearney.
Senior Kyle Heithoff shot an 82 Thursday. His 36-hole total was 173 (+31) as he finished 21st.
Sophomore Chad Bode shot a second round score of 87, finishing the tournament with a two-day score of 174 (+32), good enough to finish 23rd in the individual competition.
Winning medalist honors was Kyon Neal of McPherson County. Neal won in a playoff over Andrew Schnoor of Randolph, eached finished 36 holes with a score of 155 (+13).
In the team competition, Randolph won the championship trophy with a score of 666. Taking second was Overton at 669, Creighton came in third with a 697 while Perkins County finished fourth at 702.

Hoefer Records Hole In One At Summerland

June 4, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Summerland Golf Course has been the site of many important events. For young Paiton Hoefer of Elgin, Sunday was the biggest ‘event’ of his career as a golfer.
He achieved the rarest of feats — a hole in one — on Hole #8.
The shortest hole on the golf course, measuring just 143 yards, the 11-year-old’s tee shot found its way into the cup by hitting a five-wood.
Witnessing the feat was his father Jeremy, and brother Kellan.
As long as they play golf at Summer-land, Hoefer’s effort will be remem-bered as his name will be placed on a plaque in the clubhouse for all to see.
Congratulations Paiton!

Four Wolfpack Athletes Compete At State Meet

May 27, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

OMAHA — Four members of the Wolfpack track team competed with the best from across the state at the Nebraska Track & Field Championships.
Held Friday and Saturday at Burke Stadium in Omaha, Elgin Public-Pope John were well-represented as Taylor Schumacher, Ryan Pelster, Jill Schindler and Austin Meis competed against the best athletes in Class C.
Schumacher was the first to compete. Friday morning, she in the pole vault.
She cleared 8’, but was unable to go any higher. Winning the event was Katherine Montgomery of North Platte St. Pat’s who cleared 11’.
Pelster was next on Friday afternoon, competing in the 3200 meter run. He finished with a time of 10:34.40 but did not place. Winner of the event was Brady Delimont of Ainsworth with a time of 9:54.20.
The final event Friday was the girls and boys 200 meter dash preliminaries.
Schindler, competing in her third state track meet, finished her heat of the 200 meter dash with a time of 27.82 seconds. She did not qualify for the finals.
Winning the 200 meter dash was Mackenzie Brandl of Stanton in a time of 25.54 seconds.
Meis was the last Wolfpack athlete to compete Friday. In his heat of the 200 meter dash. Meis crossed the finish line in a time of 23.96.
Austin did not qualify for the finals. Winning the event was Jake Kadow of Hastings St. Cecilia in a time of 22.30 seconds.
On Saturday morning, Schu-macher took to the track to compete in the 800 meter run. Schumacher finished with a time of 2:35.46. Winning the event was Jessi Smith of Bayard with a time of 2:17.28.
The Wolfpack athletes gained valuable experience. Of the four state qualifiers, Meis, Schindler and Pelster are underclassmen and will have a chance to improve on their efforts next year.

« Previous PageNext Page »