Central Plains Satelite

4-H Archers Compete At State

June 19, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Antelope County 4-H Archery members recently competed at the State 4-H Archery Tournament.
Competing at Heartland Shooting Park near Grand Island, a number of team members excelled at the tournament. Results were:
State 4H 3D High School Senior Female Compound Bow Division (held Saturday)
1st place -  Alexus Glaser with a score of 230
3rd place - Bailey Carpenter with a score of 187
4th place - Morgan Carpenter with a score of 157
6th place -  Erin Beckman with a score of 131
State 4H 3D Young Adult Female Freestyle (held Saturday)
1st -  Alexus Glaser - 230
4th -  Bailey Carpenter - 187
6th -  Morgan Carpenter - 157
7th -  Erin Beckman - 131
State 4H Cub Male Freestyle
5th - Collin Glaser - 219
9th - Kyle Glaser - 185
State 4H 600 tournament Cub Freestyle
2nd - Collin Glaser - 558
7th - Kyle Glaser - 524
Youth Female Freestyle
7th - Marie Meis - 495
Young Adult Female Freestyle
2nd - Alexus Glaser - 567
5th - Morgan Carpenter - 475
7th - Bailey Carpenter - 451
8th - Erin Beckman - 444

Wickett Wins Bull-A-Rama

June 19, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

ELGIN — The bulls came to Saturday night’s Bull-A-Rama ready to put on a show. Boy, did they ever. But a young cowboy with a bright future ahead of him, rode two bulls to victory.
Garrett Wickett, a teenager from Battle Creek, dominated the field of 23 bullriders Saturday night at the event held on the lot immediately west of Dean’s Market.
There were precious few bleacher seats to be had on this night.
With dire weather warnings, the Bull-A-Rama was completed as storm cloulds were creating severe weather conditions to the east.
In the opening round, Wickett was one of just three riders to stay on the bulls a required eight seconds. Wickett had the high score of 85 points after the first round.
Other bullriders who posted scores were Ricky Clouse of Page, with a 75 and Seneca’s Colton Kovarik had a 73.
All three advanced to the short go round as did Cole McCall of Johnstown whose first ride lasted 7.98 seconds. Also advancing to the final round was Dustin Hilkemeier of Winside.
In the short go, the first four bullriders were bucked off by the bulls. As Wickett entered the chute, he was guaranteed a victory by virtue of his first round score.
Yet, as champions often do, they earn it. Riding “Fear Factor,” the 15-year-old rode the bull, posting a score of 81 points to claim the victory.
In the final standings, Clouse finished second and Kovarik placed third.
Bull riders came to Elgin from Newman Grove, Blue Hill, Johnstown, Pierce, Page, Pierce, Atkinson, Winside, Columbus, Elkhorn, Osceola, Ord, Battle Creek, Silver Creek, Springfield, Clarkson, Seneca and Bloomfield.
Also competing on this night was Elgin’s own Jake Bode whose ride was short-lived in the opening round and he did not advance to the finals.

10 & Under Girls Complete League Play

June 12, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Submitted By Kim Fangman
Elgin finished up league play on June 6 when they hosted both Clearwater and Tilden.  In the opening game Elgin played Clearwater.  Clearwater won the game 3-1.  Hitting for Elgin were Jeslynn Beckman, Skyler Meis and Baylee Busteed with a single each and Kali Dworak and Kirsten Krebs with two singles each.  Baylee Busteed started out pitching for Elgin and she struck out two batters.  Kirsten Krebs finished the game pitching and she also struck out two batters.
In the nightcap against Tilden, Elgin took a 2-4 loss.  Players getting hits for Elgin were Jeslynn Beckman and Abriel VonBonn each with a single.  Kali Dworak and Skyler Meis added two singles each and Kirsten Krebs had a double.  Kirsten pitched the game for Elgin striking out two batters. Elgin travels to Norfolk on Thursday, June 12 for a pick-up game with the Impact 10 and Unders.  They then begin the league tournament on June 17.
On May 16 when Elgin played Neligh, Jeslynn Beckman was pitcher for Elgin, not Kirsten Krebs.  Jeslynn struck out 3 batters.

EKG Sponsored Bull-A-Rama To Be Saturday

June 12, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

The McKay Rodeo Company will be bringing the meanest, toughest bulls to ride for the annual Bull-A-Rama set for this Saturday, June 14.
The Elgin Ko-Ed Group is again sponsoring the bull-riding competition which will be held at a location one block west of Dean’s Market.
Some of the best bull riders in the area will be in Elgin that night seeking eight seconds of glory when they leave the chute.
Activities will get underway at 6 p.m. with a Calcutta. Bull riding starts at 6:30 p.m. Throughout the evening, there will be a beer garden for people to relax and enjoy the festivities.
Advance tickets are $8 and can be purchased at the Bank of Elgin. Tickets at the gate the night of the event will be $10.
In honor of Father’s Day on June 15, fathers attending the Bull-A-Rama can sign up for door prizes to be drawn throughout the evening.

Wolfpack Complete First Round Of State Golf Tournament

May 28, 2014 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

After the first round of the NSAA Class C State Golf Tournament, all teams trail Hastings St. Cecilia who posted a first-day team score of 314.
Posting the best round of the day was Sam Meuret of Plainview who finished with a two-under 68.
Elgin Public-Pope John posted an 18-hole team score of 375.
Individually, the Wolfpack are led by:
Kyle Heithoff (87) +17
Chad Bode (92) +22
Miles Schrage (96) +26
Jack Borer (100) +30
Regan Kerkman (102) +32
The final round will be played tomorrow at the Mahoney Golf Course in Lincoln.

« Previous PageNext Page »