Central Plains Satelite

Schrage Completes Play At Class C State Golf Tournament

May 26, 2016 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Wolfpack junior Miles Schrage was the lone EPPJ golfer competing this week at the Class C State Golf Tournament.
Schrage made his junior year count. Heartbreak endured at the end of his sophomore season was replaced this year by him becoming one of the best golfers on the team. He put together his best round of the year when the Wolfpack needed it the most, finishing eighth at the district tournament at Plainview CC.
On Tuesday, the first round of the state golf tournament, Schrage carded an 18-hole score of 95. He wrapped up tournament play Wednesday at the Kearney Country Club with an 18-hole score of 101. He finished the tournament with a 36-hole score of 196.

Schumacher, Parks To Play For NVC All-Stars Friday Night

May 26, 2016 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Wolfpack seniors Seth Schumacher and Jenna Parks will join other players from the Niobrara Valley Conference Friday night to take on all-stars from the Mid-Nebraska Athletic Conference. The games will be played at O’Neill St. Mary’s High School on Friday night, May 27. The girls game will begin at 5 p.m. with the boys game to follow at 7 p.m.

Wolfpack “Four” Compete At State Track Meet

May 26, 2016 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

OMAHA — Wolfpack athletes competed with the best this weekend at the Nebraska State Track & Field Championships held at Burke Stadium.
Sophomore Lydia Behnk and seniors Austin Meis, Dylan Behnk and Ryan Pelster competed against the best athletes in Class C.
Although no Wolfpack athlete medaled at the meet in Omaha, they represented Elgin Public-Pope John well.
Here’s how they fared:
Ryan Pelster — Competing in the 3200 meter run, Pelster, wrapped up his high school career by finishing 17th in a time of 10:28.93. Winning the event was Nolan Kohmetscher of Nebraska Christian with a time of 9:42.00.
Dylan Behnk — A senior, Behnk finished 19th in the triple jump with a best leap of 39’8 3/4”. Winning the event was Jaden Withrow of Kimball with a leap of 44’1 3/4”.
Austin Meis — A senior, Meis competed in two events. In the 100 meter dash, he posted a time of 11.9 seconds in a preliminary heat. In the finals, Simon Wiedel of Thayer Central won with a time of 10.9 seconds.
In the 200 meter dash, Meis finished his preliminary heat with a time of 24.04. Winning the event Saturday was Wiedel with a time of 22.40.
Lydia Behnk — A sophomore, Behnk competed in two events. In the triple jump, Behnk finished 12th with a leap of 33’10 1/4”. Winning the event was Tarrin Beller of Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family with a leap of 36’4“.
In the long jump, Behnk’s best effort was 14’2” to finish 22nd. Winning the event was Sara Czarnick of Twin River with a best effort of 17’1 1/4”.

Schrage Earn Spot At Class C State Golf Tournament

May 19, 2016 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

PLAINVIEW — Elgin Public-Pope John will be represented next week at the Class C State Golf Tournament.
Junior Miles Schrage qualified for the state tournament, to be held at the Kearney Country Club, by finishing eighth in the individual competition at the District C-3 Golf Tournament held at Plainview Country Club Monday, shooting an 84.
Medalist at the district meet was Mason Hale of West Holt who carded a 76 over 18 holes.
Hartington Central Catholic won the team title and will be one of three schools competing for a state championship from the district. Hartington CC claimed the title with a team score of 333, one better than West Holt 334. Also earning a trip to state was Pierce who finished third with a score of 350. Other team scores were Battle Creek 355, Neligh-Oakdale 377, Bloomfield/Wausa 381, Norfolk Catholic 383, EPPJ 392, Twin River 399, Humphrey/LHF 417, Crofton 417, Lutheran High NE 419, Plainview 420, Hartington/Newcastle 446 and Madison 449.
The Wolfpack had just four golfers compete at Plainview. Aside from Schrage, other team members and their scores were Hunter Reestman 91, Liam Heithoff 102 and Kalin Henn 115.
The state meet will be held May 24-25.

Wolfpack Qualify Four For State Track Meet

May 19, 2016 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

For Ryan Pelster, Austin Meis, Dylan Behnk and Lydia Behnk, track season continues. The “Wolfpack Four” secured berths at the State Track & Field Championships this week by qualifying at the district track meet at Burwell Thursday.
They will compete in the following events:
• Pelster — In making his third trip to state, he will compete in the 3200 meter run.
• Meis — Returning to Burke Stadium for the second time, Meis will compete first in the 100 meter dash, then the 200 meter dash.
• Behnk — Turning in a personal best leap of 41’6”, Dylan will compete in the triple jump at state.
• Behnk — Lydia turned in the best performance at Burwell, winning both the triple jump and long jump to qualify for state.
Coach Wes Prater said he was pleased with their efforts and also noted the team had many personal best efforts at Burwell.
Ainsworth won the team title with 161 points followed by Ord 126, Burwell 60, EPPJ 53, West Holt 48, Neligh-Oakdale 39, Clearwater/Orchard 23 and Niobrara/Verdigre 17. In the girls competition, Ord won the team title with 168 points followed by Clearwater/Orchard 105, West Holt 69, EPPJ 52, Ainsworth 50, Burwell 42, Neligh-Oakdale 39 and NIobrara/Verdigre 2.
Individual results were:
High jump — 1. Jagger Smith, Clearwater/Orchard, 6’2”
Pole vault — 1. Kaden Dawe, Ord, 11’2”
Long jump — 1. Jagger Smith, Clearwater/Orchard, 20’4”
Triple jump — 1. Dylan Behnk, EPPJ, 41’6”
Discus — 1. Lane Helgoth, Burwell, 163’9”
Shot put — 1. Ben Allen, Ainsworth, 52’1”
3200 meter relay — 1. Ainsworth, 8:34.80
110 meter hurdles — 1. Payton Allen, Ainsworth, 16.10 seconds
100 meter dash — 1. Trevin Kruml, Ord, 11.70 seconds; 2. Austin Meis, EPPJ, 11.70+; 3. Andrew Fangman, EPPJ, 11.80
400 meter dash — 1. Austin Harthoorn, Ainsworth, 53.40 seconds
3200 meter run — 1. Brady Delimont, Ainsworth, 10:34.90; 2. Ryan Pelster, EPPJ, 10:37.80
200 meter dash — 1. Austin Meis, EPPJ, 23.80 seconds
800 meter run — 1. Austin Harthoorn, Ainsworth, 2:03.40
300 meter hurdles — 1. Payton Allen, Ainsworth, 41.30 seconds
1600 meter run — 1. Gage Delimont, Ainsworth, 4:46.00; 6. Ryan Pelster, EPPJ, 5:07.50
400 meter relay — 1. Ord, 45.80 seconds; 2. EPPJ (Kyle Kallhoff, Andrew Fangman, Dylan Behnk, Austin Meis), 47.20
1600 meter relay — 1. Ainsworth, 3:34.90; 5. EPPJ (Ryan Pelster, Andrew Fangman, Kyle Kallhoff, Dylan Behnk), 3:53.40
High jump — 1. Alexis Pokorny, Clearwater/Orchard, 5’1”; 6. Kaylee Martinsen, EPPJ, 4’6”
Pole vault — 1. Morgan Alexander, Ord, 10’
Long jump — 1. Lydia Behnk, EPPJ, 15’9”
Triple jump — 1. Lydia Behnk, EPPJ, 34’5”; 3. Liz Selting, EPPJ, 32’6.5”
Discus — 1. Kate Grint, Ord, 128’4”
Shot put — 1. Kate Grint, Ord, 40’1”
3200 meter relay — 1. Ord, 10:23.60; 3. EPPJ (Anna Heilhecker, Emma Kerkman, Baylee Wemhoff, Jenna Parks), 10:59.10
100 meter hurdles — 1. Micheala Jensen, West Holt, 16.60 seconds; 4. Taya Voborny, EPPJ, 17.30
100 meter dash — 1. Kinzly Macke, Clearwater/Orchard, 13.10 seconds
400 meter dash — 1. Kylie Thiele, Clearwater/Orchard, 1:02.20; 5. Kaylee Martinsen, EPPJ, 1:06.80; 6. Lydia Behnk, EPPJ, 1:07.50
3200 meter run — 1. Zoe Ritz, Ord, 12:41.70
200 meter dash — 1. Grace Racek, Ord, 27.20 seconds; 5. Paige Meis, EPPJ, 28.30
800 meter run — 1. Kylie Thiele, Clearwater/Orchard, 2:27.00
300 meter hurdles — 1. Jordan Kuck, Ord, 48.20 seconds; 5. Jenna Parks, EPPJ, 53.80 seconds; 6. Liz Selting, EPPJ, 54.20
1600 meter run — 1. Morgan Alexander, Ord, 5:40.70; 4. Anna Heilhecker, EPPJ, 6:06.00
400 meter relay — 1. Ord, 52.50 seconds; 6. EPPJ (Paige Meis, Kaylee Martinsen, Taylor Sehi, Vada Kruse), 55.40+
1600 meter relay — 1. Ord, 4:15.50; 5. EPPJ (Lydia Behnk, Kaylee Martinsen, Baylee Wemhoff, Jenna Parks), 4:35.10

Next Page »