Central Plains Satelite

Wolfpack Volleyball Team Hopes Summer Camps Translate To “State”

July 3, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

By Terri Seier
Wolfpack volleyball has been District Runner-Up for two consecutive years, but this year the volleyball girls are determined to make it to State Volleyball. However, they don’t start working towards their goal during the season; no, it all starts now.
On Wednesday, June 17, 2015, the volleyball girls had their first ever team camp this summer in Aurora with Shelli Mohnike. The camp’s main focus was on serving and passing.  “Fundamentals are key. It all starts with getting your serve over, or getting the pass to your setter. If the serve falls short it’s a point for the other team, and without a good pass there can’t be a good kill.” Nicole Beckman, senior volleyball player, tells us. This is seen even in the season.
Most people see the great kill but none of that can happen without the hard work of the back row, the fundamentals.
When the camp started at nine o’ clock in the morning it started simple, going through the proper serving form, like any other camp does. However, Shelli didn’t stop with the form. She made sure to go around to each girl and give pointers and tips on how to improve. “She helps eliminate errors by working with the players slowly, and help them realize their mistakes so that they can improve.  ” Nickol Payne, sophomore volleyball player, said when asked what she liked about Shelli’s teaching method.
The camp didn’t stop there. It went on to passing. Again Shelli showed the players proper form and went around giving advice to each girl individually. Shelli’s tips seemed like little changes here and there, but when it came down to serving or receiving  just by taking their guide arm down and “elbowing their brother” or turning their shoulders a centimeter more made a big enough difference to land the ball where they wanted on the court. “Shelli works on the little things and those little things are what matter.” Jenna Parks, senior volleyball player, comments.
Suddenly, the last hour of the camp was upon them and everything the Wolfpack volleyball team learned was put together in a series of drills. It started off with just a serving drill called Jail, which Coach Thiele hopes to use as a drill during the season. It was about not only being able to make a serve over the net and in, but also spotting the serve so that in a game situation the server can find the weakest link in the other team’s serve-receive and land Ace serves all game. Another drill Shelli taught the volleyball team was Queen. This was a passing drill where the players had to serve-receive to the target and when they had a good pass they got a letter and the first player to spell Queen won. This helped with getting the players’ footwork down and getting to the ball while also working on keeping it under control. The last drill for the day was a mixture of passing and serving. It worked on the forms that were learned. The concept of the drill was to have one serve-receiver on each court while one server served to them until they got an ace serve and moved on to the next court until they got a total of four ace serves.
The morning may have started off rough when Terri Seier, senior volleyball player, overslept and had to hustle to Petersburg to catch the bus leaving, but it all worked out.
The volleyball girls had a great time working with Shelli and can’t wait to rejoin with her again on July 1 (today) to work on setting and hitting.
Jenna Parks sums up every player’s goal, that they are working so hard for now in one word — “State.”

58 Attend St. Boniface Alumni Banquet

July 3, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

A total of 58 alumni and guests gathered for the 72nd Annual St. Boniface Alumni Banquet at the Elgin Community Center on Saturday, June 27. The honored classes were the classes of 1945, 1950, 1955, 1960 and 1965. Before the meal, Fr. Ross Burkhalter gave the invocation. Alumni President Joan Luettel gave the welcome.
Fr. Burkhalter announced the winners of the scholarships. The Delbert Salber Scholarship was awarded to Alyssa Burenheide and Marissa Preister. The Capt. Larry Getzfred Memorial Scholarship was given to the Josh and Tonya Kallhoff Family. The Mark Schindler Memorial Scholarship went to the Andy and Karri Drueke Family. The St. Boniface Alumni Association Scholarships were awarded to the Nikki Moore and Scott and Kay Preister families.
Alumni Committee Officers for the 2015 Banquet were President Joan Luettel, Vice President Connie Seier and Secretary-Treasurer Joan Schindler. Committee Members were Ron Eischeid, Ken Pelster, Denis Dozler and Raedean Henn.
The following were elected to the 2016 St. Boniface Alumni Banquet Committee: President Jeanne Knievel, Vice President Jim Getzfred, Secretary-Treasurer Nancy Selting and committee members Tom Parks, Ferd Schrage, Carol Funk, Donna Knust and Marilyn Sehi.
The 2016 Alumni Banquet will be held on Saturday, June 25, 2016.
Submitted by Joan Schindler

14 & Under Girls Play In Tournament

July 3, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

On Wednesday, June 24 Elgin traveled to Norfolk to play the Impact. Elgin lost the game 4-13. Heather Bauer had a single and two RBI’s, Ally Wemhoff added a single and an RBI, Paige Meis, Anna Heilhecker and Grace Rittscher each had a single and Marie Meis had an RBI. Anna Heilhecker pitched for Elgin, walking two and striking out two.
Elgin traveled to O’Neill on Saturday, to play in the league tournament.
In their first game Elgin lost to Pierce 8-14. Hitting for Elgin were Ally Wemhoff with a double and an RBI, and Emma Kerkman, Grace Rittscher, Paige Meis and Anna Heilhecker each with a single and an RBI, and Calli Krebs with a single.
Anna Heilhecker took the pitching loss for Elgin. She struck out four and walked five.
Dropping to the loser’s bracket Elgin played Albion next losing a close game, 9-10. Getting hits for Elgin were Heather Bauer with two singles and two RBIs, Calli Krebs and Grace Rittscher with two singles each, Ally Wemhoff, Paige Meis and Anna Heilhecker each with a single and Emma Kerkman with an RBO.
Anna Heilhecker pitched again walking two and striking out seven.

Cora Beckman

July 3, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Chris and Megan Beckman, of Elgin, are the proud parents of a new baby girl named Cora Ann Beckman. Born on June 10, 2015 at Faith Regional in Nor-folk, she weighed nine pounds, two ounces and was 21 inches long.
Grandparents are Paul and Connie Beckman of Elgin and Mike and Renee Riesberg of Waukee, IA. Great Grandparents are Merle Sehi of Elgin, Bernard Wirges of Petersburg, Lee Riesberg of Omaha and Mick Riesberg of Omaha.

Jaycee Wagner

July 3, 2015 by lmorgan · Comments Off 

Calvin and Bethany (Kallhoff) Wagner of Bartlett are the proud parents of their first child, a daughter, named Jaycee Lynn Wagner.
Jaycee was born on Thursday, June 4, at FRHS in Norfolk. She weighed seven pounds, four ounces and was 20-1/2 inches long.
Grandparents are Jerry and Betty Kallhoff of Elgin, Stan Wagner of Ericson and Becky and Kevin Valla of Orchard.
Great-grandparents are Melvin Kallhoff and Joan Johnson-Dickau, both of Elgin, Diane Clifford of Hastings and Willa Wagner of Ericson.

Next Page »